Aid Another to "help a friend...when he is affected by a spell"?


Rules Questions


From the combat chapter: "You can also use [Aid Another] to help a friend in other ways, such as when he is affected by a spell...."

How the crap does that work?

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

A classic example is hold person. You get a save each round, so your buddy coming up to you and telling you to snap out of it could give you a bonus on your saving throw.


KingOfAnything wrote:
A classic example is hold person. You get a save each round, so your buddy coming up to you and telling you to snap out of it could give you a bonus on your saving throw.

I didn't know you could do that...

Sczarni

It's one of those little known rules, but I remember there being a big thread arguing about it years ago.

Makes Helpful Halflings all the more helpful.

Silver Crusade

And Kindness Phantoms!


Hold Person is a good example, and it's pretty much what I figured. Here's the question though: What skill/save/attack bonus do you use on the roll to aid?


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
DRD1812 wrote:
Hold Person is a good example, and it's pretty much what I figured. Here's the question though: What skill/save/attack bonus do you use on the roll to aid?

Presumably the applicable save bonus.

Sczarni

It wouldn't make sense to use an Attack or a Skill check to Aid Another on a Saving Throw, so I would agree with David Knott.

DC would still be 10, using your Saving Throw bonus, and you would still probably fail to Aid if you rolled a Natural 1.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Don't think it works for hold person, just those spells that specifically allow for it, such as sleep (to wake your companion up) for example.

Sczarni

How is hold person not being "affected by a spell"?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Nefreet wrote:
How is hold person not being "affected by a spell"?

I don't think the Combat Chapter reference is for ANY spell. I think it refers only to those spells that specifically state you can use aid another (sleep being one example).

How is the wizard's level of will power supposed to help the fighter break free from a hold person spell pray tell? It's more of an internal struggle.

In short, I'm arguing that you cannot use aid another to boost an ally's saves under normal circumstances.


Waking someone from Sleep doesn't require an Aid Another check, though, it's a simple matter of slapping someone with the appropriate (standard?) action.

Liberty's Edge

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Sleep mentions it specifically b/c for sleep it's an automatic success, which isn't how Aid Another normally works.
With any spell that doesn't specify how it works DIFFERENTLY, one must assume that it works NORMALLY.

and as for how is the wizard supposed to help? Have you never seen a movie / read a book where somebody's trying to fight off some form of mind control, and their friend is trying to talk them through it?
"This isn't you, get ahold of yourself. Remember the yellow crayon?" etc.
Granted that example is for charms/compulsions, but Hold isn't much different.
"OK listen to me, .. clear your mind, imagine the magic as a wall around your mind, focus your will like a sword.. you're good with swords remember? Now smash that wall!"

etc etc etc.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

"Don't believe in yourself. Believe in me, who believes in you."


because hold person is a compulsion mind-affecting that let you a save each round, so you are only paralyze in your head, so if someone come and say hey buddy you are not really paralyze its only in your mind you can shrug it off, that's an aid another and will work to help you against that mind-affecting effect you are fighting at each round


David knott 242 wrote:
Presumably the applicable save bonus.

That makes sense to me from a rules perspective. It pairs nicely with the Skill-based uses of Aid Another that make you roll the same skill. I'm just having a hard time reconciling the image of the classic, "Snap out of it man!" being represented by a Will save. In my mind that action seems like a Diplomacy or Intimidate check or even (accompanied by a slap) an unarmed strike.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Though it is an automatic success, doesn't sleep specifically call it a use of the aid another action?

Sczarni

Ravingdork wrote:
doesn't sleep specifically call it a use of the aid another action?

This made me pause and search, and sure enough there are a few spells that call out using the Aid Another action to break the victim from the spell's effects.

I guess that throws a wrench in the gears =\


Ravingdork wrote:
Though it is an automatic success, doesn't sleep specifically call it a use of the aid another action?

Good catch! Here's the line in question:

"Slapping or wounding awakens an affected creature, but normal noise does not. Awakening a creature is a standard action (an application of the aid another action)."

I've always played awakening as automatic thanks to the "slapping or wounding" line, but I wonder what the intent is here? I mean, do you have to actually deal non-lethal damage via unarmed strike to make it automatic via slapping? Would the aid another option then represent a gentler, non-damaging "shake 'em awake" method? What a weird rules interaction we've stumbled into!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Aid Another to "help a friend...when he is affected by a spell"? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions