Does a Skald count as a Bard for feats that call out a specific Bard level?


Rules Questions


Prompted by a discussion on a different site, I've noticed a handful of feats that ask for a Bard level, such as Diva Style, Grandmaster Performer, and Divine Expression. Since the Skald Hybrid is not specifically mentioned as counting as a Bard for feat prerequisites, I am wondering if that means these feats may not be taken by a Skald. Or by other classes, prestige classes, or archetypes that have bardic abilities, for that matter.

Dark Archive

Yes, Skald counts. Skald, as a Bard archetype, is a customization of the Bard class (and thus still counts as being a "Bard") rather than levels in a different, non-Bard class (like with prestige classes). More info on archetypes: http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/ultimateCombat/classArchetypes.html


I completely forgot there was an archetype called the Skald. I meant the Hybrid class. Sorry about that.


Looking through the class the only thing I could find was this;

ACG p.49 wrote:
A raging song counts as the bard’s bardic performance special ability for any effect that affects bardic performances. A skald may learn bard masterpieces (Pathfinder RPG Ultimate Magic 21).

So no, other than those two specific things Skalds don't count as Bards. Unless I missed some FAQ or something.


I don't think so. Brawler, swashbuckler, and warpriest have specific rules saying that their levels count as fighter levels for purpose of acquiring feats. If the hybrid classes counted as their parent classes such text would be redundant.


Diva Style can be taken by anyone, just no shortcut around the regular prerequisite that is available to 1st level bard.

I could not find Grandmaster Performer or Divine Expression feats so I can't comment on them.


Bard level 1st, cleric or oracle level 1st, worshiper of Shelyn.
Bardic performance class feature, Extra Performance, Master Performer, bard level 8th, Kitharodian Academy 20 TPA.

Both of these have absolute levels of bard required. The skald class does not qualify for them without a class dip (a rather significant one, in the latter's case).


Huh, I searched Archive Of Nethys and it did not showed me Divine Expression (it would not show Grand Master Performer anyway because I wrote it down like the OP without space).

...

Duh, the Chrome remembered my previous search, I made a stupid typo. Archives are not to blame.

Divine Expression looks like something that might not be intended to work with Skald, a class which feels martially and aggressively minded than Shelyn would like.


intended, NO.
Reason is that the Brawler hybrid class has an ability that lets it count as fighter and monk for everything. This is intended to qualify for existing material.
With the skald not having similar ability it's not intended to work with previous material.


My question was one of intent. I could not find any discussion or clarification from developers on the interaction between Skalds or other Bard-likes and these feats.

I don't expect RPG-Line books to acknowledge content outiside the RPG-Line. Especially not when there were literally only two fringe cases at the time the Skald was released.

It ultimately makes no difference to me. I was just curious if it was oversight after reading discussion elsewhere. None of my groups allow splatbook content.


If you want a question of intent, you need to look at release dates.

Faction Guide (Grand Master Performer): May 2010
Inner Sea Gods (Divine Expression): March 2014
Advanced Class Guide (Skald class): August 2014
Adventurer Guide (Diva Style): May 2017

For Grand Master Performer and Divine Expression, Skalds did not exist at the time, so their exclusion from level requirements is relatively forgivable. While I do agree that Divine Expression has an incredibly specific flavor, and thus would not personally open it to the Skald class, Grand Master Performer seems much more a matter of circumstance if anything, and arguing for Skald entry makes some matter of sense.

Diva Style, however, was written three years after the Skald. Other contents of the book prove they knew Skalds were a thing, and thus the Skald getting 1st-level access was clearly purposefully excluded.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does a Skald count as a Bard for feats that call out a specific Bard level? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions