Contingency: On self and animal companion simultaneously?


Rules Questions


Can you have a contingency spell on you and your animal companion at the same time? The spell itself says that you can only have one contingency spell active at a time, but does that mean maximum one contingency /character or one contingency /caster?


While the precise wording could go either way, a number of the Contingency-related effects (such as Mythic Contingency or Contingent Action) all imply the limitation of one Contingency at a time is a per-character basis. On that notion, if you cast it on an animal companion or familiar or similar companion through Share Spells, then that's a Contingency on them, and you may still have another one on yourself.


It is absolutely certain that without Mythic Contingency a creature can only have one contingency spell active on them at one time.

The question is, without anything else, can a caster have more than one contingency active as long as they are follow the one on a creature rule (via share spell.)

Contingency says "you can use only one contingency spell at a time; if a second is cast, the first one (if still active) is dispelled."

You can only 'use' is the condition. It seems to me to be pretty clear that using is having a contingency spell on yourself personally, so a second one being cast would be a second one on you (i.e. that you are using). That means that you can have one on yourself and another on a creature you can share spells with.


Dave Justus wrote:

It is absolutely certain that without Mythic Contingency a creature can only have one contingency spell active on them at one time.

Be less certain and google the Extra Contingency feat.


Plausible Pseudonym wrote:
Dave Justus wrote:

It is absolutely certain that without Mythic Contingency a creature can only have one contingency spell active on them at one time.

Be less certain and google the Extra Contingency feat.

Sorry I should have said or something else similar. By default, just one contingency.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Contingency: On self and animal companion simultaneously? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions