Multi-facet questions on sneak attacks.


Rules Questions


I have a few scenarios to work through here.

Scenario 1:
Arcane Trickster with Improved Unarmed Strike casts shocking grasp, holds the charge for a round then moves in and punches a target in the kidneys.

What gets extra dice from steak attack? Does the punch get the dice? Does the spell get the dice? Do you get to pick or split the dice? Or, do they both get the dice each?

All Sneak Attack says on the matter is: "The rogue's attack deals extra damage anytime her target would be denied a Dexterity bonus to AC (whether the target actually has a Dexterity bonus or not), or when the rogue flanks her target."

Under "Holding the Charge" it says: "If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges."

It never says that the spell is just extra damage dice, it says that the spell discharges, aka: the spell takes effect.

Now, normally you can sneak attack with Shocking Grasp without having to to punch someone, just touch them, so it is an attack in its own right. It seems like you are simply resolving 2 attacks with one roll. It remains to be said that it is still rather cloudy.

Scenario 2:
Similar principle, Monster with at-will spell-like touch attack and a level of rogue uses a Conductive weapon.

I have seen many people claim that the damage from the ability is tied to the enchantment but the wording is "When the wielder makes a successful attack of the appropriate type, he may choose to expend two uses of his magical ability to channel it through the weapon to the struck opponent, which suffers the effects of both the weapon attack and the special ability. (If the wielder has unlimited uses of a special ability, she may channel through the weapon every round.) For example, a paladin who strikes an undead opponent with her conductive greatsword can expend two uses of her lay on hands ability (a supernatural melee touch attack) to deal both greatsword damage and damage from one use of lay on hands."

To me this implies that the damage is from the ability, not the enchantment. The enchantment just allows the ability and the attack to work in concert.

Same questions as before.


the attack gets the extra dice, so the IUS gets the extra sneak attack damage.

the attack gets teh extra dice, so the IUS gets the extra sneak attack.

Whatever you're rolling the attack for gets the sneak attack, extra riders to the attack, like a held spell that triggers on an successful punch, aren't the attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Multi-facet questions on sneak attacks. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.