Rod of Wonder: Magic schools and range? (63-65, 66-69)


Rules Questions

The Exchange

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hello all,

I recently saw a discussion regarding the Rod of Wonder's reduce size:

Quote:
66–69 Reduce wielder two size categories (no save) for 1 day.

What magic school (if any) does this effect belong to?

I was hoping it would match the other size changers and be Transmutation (Polymorph) but:
  • One I asked said that he would take it as pure Transmutation and apply the reverse of the Ability Score modification listed in the "Size Changes" table in the Magic section.
  • Another just mentioned Transmutation without any further information.

(If it belongs to Polymorph, there would be no Ability Score modification as it is not listed)

Second, what is the range of the:

Quote:
63–65 Any nonliving object of up to 1,000 pounds of mass and up to 30 cubic feet in size turns ethereal.

Would like to "open" doors and not kill myself doing it xD

Thanks =)

Sczarni

Greetings, NopeDK.

You've actually posted this in the Pathfinder Society Forum. Since you're asking general rules questions, I'll go ahead and flag your post to be moved over to the Rules Questions Forum.

You're simply more likely to get the answer and attention that your question deserves over there.

In the meantime, HERE is how Campaign Leadership advises handling ambiguous rules interactions.

The Exchange

Ah, thank you Nefreet.

Was looking for a solid enough ruling for PFS which was why I posted it here.

Sczarni

That's indeed what the Rules Questions Forum is for. PFS operates using the PFRPG rules set. Campaign Leadership and the Rules Team are involved in entirely different avenues of the game.

This Forum is for discussing PFS-specific material, such as Chronicle Sheets, scenarios, Boons, the Campaign itself, and other organized play topics that likewise wouldn't be appropriate in other Forums.

People do often get the two confused, so this happens frequently enough. If you want a ruling you can point your GMs to, the Rules Questions Forum is your best shot.

Grand Lodge

Reduce wielder - Transmutation, not polymorph, but is an effect that changes the wielder's size, by comparing reduce person

Nonliving object becomes ethereal - Other effects of the rod vary unpredictably in range. The wielder isn't deliberately targeting the object, so I think it would be at range rather than touch, which might be either 30 or 60 feet. The latter would be more wacky and more likely to find a suitable object within range. Only one object is affected.

The Exchange

Starglim, can you expand on your comparison to Reduce Person?

Second person mentioned has later clarified that he, personally, would for all intents and purposes count it as Reduce Person (Transmutation (Polymorph)).

Edit: I guess I just have a hard time of seeing it as a pure Transmutation when all other effects that changes your shape or size is a Polymorph effect.

Grand Lodge

NopeDK wrote:
Starglim, can you expand on your comparison to Reduce Person?

Reduce person seems to be the most similar spell effect. It's a Transmutation spell, but doesn't have the (polymorph) descriptor. I'm not sure what I can add to that.

The Exchange

Starglim wrote:
Reduce person seems to be the most similar spell effect. It's a Transmutation spell, but doesn't have the (polymorph) descriptor. I'm not sure what I can add to that.

Apparently I have gotten my facts wrong O.o, was so sure that Reduce/Enlarge Person had the Polymorph descriptor to negate stacking. Instead they have most of the text from the Polymorph subschool listed in the description (gear resizing, stacking etc.), which is why I have been so confused...

NopeDK wrote:
Second person mentioned has later clarified that he, personally, would for all intents and purposes count it as Reduce Person (Transmutation (Polymorph)).

Disregarding the (Polymorph), would you agree with this interpretation then?

Basically is a Reduce Person for two size categories, most likely without ability score adjustments as that is not listed?

Starglim wrote:
The wielder isn't deliberately targeting the object,

Wait, you would rule it is as a random obejct within range, even if most other abilities specify targeting?

That would be both hilarious and potentially dangerous xD

NopeDK wrote:
Edit: I guess I just have a hard time of seeing it as a pure Transmutation when all other effects that changes your shape or size is a Polymorph effect.

Ignore this, need to get my facts straight next time.

The Exchange

Have received another opinion:
Transmutation, not Polymorph, and no gear resizing as it lacks the text (like what is written in Reduce Person) and is not a Polymorph effect.

With the missing rules around smaller than small sized gear (except armor and Wondrous items), that would be sad.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rod of Wonder: Magic schools and range? (63-65, 66-69) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions