If you are bound, chained, or otherwise restrained - are the restraints your gear for spell purposes?


Rules Questions

51 to 54 of 54 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

PossibleCabbage wrote:

Can I use my restraints as an expensive material component for a psychic spell, claiming that they have a personal connection to me because of how traumatized I am for being locked in these manacles?

Euphoric Cloud is a good one for this, since the expensive material component is only 5gp, and you can use any item that is of equal of greater value.

This seems absurdly abusive, but I'm not sure how to stop it beyond "No, your manacles don't count as an item of personal value."

That's hilarious to me.... Guess it depends if trauma counts as personal (as opposed to beloved, which is the normal concept of a personal item like a picture, hairbrush, hand mirror, jewelry, etc.). But then those manacles - wouldn't you miss them and the special way they made your wrists feel? I might allow it if the character was a masochist.


Some other thoughts in no particular order.

Gear is not a defined 'game term', it's common English.
It is not directly stated as something required in the Aiming a Spell portion of the magic rules. It differs from the terms Target or Object in this respect.

You can't force someone else to teleport with you, they must be willing. No grappling the evil necromancer and whisking him away (assuming they wish to stay put).

You must touch an object to teleport it or the willing creature you are teleporting must touch it (among other requirements).

Note the weight limits and other descriptive text of the Teleport Object spell. In particular the Saving Throw line. Allowing Teleport to exceed these limits without very specific text to the contrary is probably a bad idea particularly with respect to shedding (or not) various objects that might be considered gear.

There's no time involved or rather stated in the rules for how long one must possess or hold something for it to be considered your gear vs someone else's gear. Is the 'transfer' instantaneous? Thinking about the way certain magic items must be in ones possession for 24 hours prior to their bonus counting as permanent vs temporary. Of course temporary gear could still be your gear.

For it to be your gear do you then also have to be able to give it away? If you can't, for whatever reason, is it then not your gear but still someone else's gear? Is control of the object part of the question/issue?

I had a character once who knew the spell Animate Rope (as well as Eschew, Still and Silent metamagic feats). What happens if you bind her with a normal, mundane silk rope?

I'm sure more ramblings will occur to me right after I post.


Kayerloth wrote:

Some other thoughts in no particular order.

Gear is not a defined 'game term', it's common English.
It is not directly stated as something required in the Aiming a Spell portion of the magic rules. It differs from the terms Target or Object in this respect.

No Doubt! I think that is why this subject has so many posts. Gear is poorly defined -- well, undefined - which leaves it open to interp. The army issues you a backpack with provisions, a uniform, a weapon, and all this is property of the Army - but it is your gear, whether you want to carry it or not, whether you own it or not, it's yours until you find a way to pass it off or ditch it.

So - for me anyway, until the FAQ comes out - "If you carry it, it is your gear" will be the standard.


Plausible Pseudonym wrote:
Chains or bindings are more attached to your body than many items of clothing and slotted items. If you can teleport out of chains then an enemy should be able to Plane Shift you out of most/all of your gear. You don't want that.

On the other hand, polymorphing into anything non-humanoid would cause the restraints to merge with your body, allowing you unimpeded movement for the spell duration.

You don't shed the bonds, they simply are not there until the spell wears off, reappearing as you reassume your normal form.

51 to 54 of 54 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / If you are bound, chained, or otherwise restrained - are the restraints your gear for spell purposes? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions