| Eric.hansen71 |
Im playing an investigator and I got an animal companion so I could have some sort of damage in a fight and I was wondering if I can feed my extracts to my animal. I have infusion so other people can use my extracts I can't find anywhere if you can use them directly on animals or if they work in a potion sponge which I could feed to them
| Nixitur |
I'd say an animal companion could easily use infusions itself, yeah. This is the relevant part of the description of using extracts:
An extract is “cast” by drinking it, as if imbibing a potion
Technically, the description of potions states that the user removes the stopper and swallows the potion, seemingly implying a necessary level of fine control in their appendages. However, it also states the following:
Any corporeal creature can imbibe a potion or use an oil.
This is pretty clear and unambiguous. I suppose it was originally worded that way to allow polymorphed characters to use potions as well, but this would absolutely apply to animal companions as well.
Getting your animal companion to actually do that would be a bit tricky, though, I imagine. There is no trick under Handle Animal that makes an animal use an item.I would probably say that you could use the same rule of administering a potion to an unconscious creature (a full-round action) to feed a potion or infusion to an animal, but that's not technically in the rules.
| toastedamphibian |
Infusions, yes, extracts, no. Extracts affect only you... unless I can find something in the animal companion rules to counter this.
Edit:
Share Spells (Ex)
The druid may cast a spell with a target of “You” on her animal companion (as a touch range spell) instead of on herself. A druid may cast spells on her animal companion even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the companion’s type (animal). Spells cast in this way must come from a class that grants an animal companion. This ability does not allow the animal to share abilities that are not spells, even if they function like spells.
Looks like not. Sorry.
Edit 2: Should consider an Archetype since you cannot use share spells. I'd suggest Bodyguard.
| Nixitur |
Quote:An alchemist’s extracts and mutagens are considered spells for the purposes of familiar abilities like share spells and deliver touch spells.?
Familar ≠ Animal Companion
Not to mention that this descriptor is specific to the Tumor Familiar discovery which the Investigator can't even get. This wouldn't even be an issue with a familiar which is usually smart enough that you can tell it to use infusions and it would just do it if it obeyed you sufficiently.| BigNorseWolf |
Did you inquire the animal companion through your investigator class or is it from another source?
When an animal companion has share spells or the like, only class features that give you the animal companion count. So a Sylvan sorcerer can cast enlarge druid on their animal companion, but a druid cannot walk into wandmart and pick up a wand that does the same, nor can they multiclass into wizard for that trick (multiclassing into sylvan sorcerer will work though)
| Eric.hansen71 |
Did you inquire the animal companion through your investigator class or is it from another source?
When an animal companion has share spells or the like, only class features that give you the animal companion count. So a Sylvan sorcerer can cast enlarge druid on their animal companion, but a druid cannot walk into wandmart and pick up a wand that does the same, nor can they multiclass into wizard for that trick (multiclassing into sylvan sorcerer will work though)
I got the animal through a combination of animal ally and wild child brawler
| Eric.hansen71 |
I'd say an animal companion could easily use infusions itself, yeah. This is the relevant part of the description of using extracts:
Advanced Player's Guide wrote:An extract is “cast” by drinking it, as if imbibing a potionTechnically, the description of potions states that the user removes the stopper and swallows the potion, seemingly implying a necessary level of fine control in their appendages. However, it also states the following:
Core Rulebook wrote:Any corporeal creature can imbibe a potion or use an oil.This is pretty clear and unambiguous. I suppose it was originally worded that way to allow polymorphed characters to use potions as well, but this would absolutely apply to animal companions as well.
Getting your animal companion to actually do that would be a bit tricky, though, I imagine. There is no trick under Handle Animal that makes an animal use an item.
I would probably say that you could use the same rule of administering a potion to an unconscious creature (a full-round action) to feed a potion or infusion to an animal, but that's not technically in the rules.
What about a potion sponge
| Joesi |
The animal would be highly unlikely to use the infused extract at all on it's own unless it was something like a gorilla or chimpanzee (and even then, to prevent unfairness I'd consider not giving such animals much special treatment either)
That said, I'd say it's 100% reasonable to allow someone to help a willing animal to consume an infused extract (or potion). In many cases it might be reasonable to take a Handle Animal check though if there's _any_ reason the animal might somehow be unsure about it.
Potion sponges specifically call out only working on potions, plus even then I would say that an animal wouldn't be able to use one on it's own either. I presume all you care about is a scenario where someone is helping them though, which should be allowed (for potions in potion sponges)