Sylph Wind Listener and Echoing Spell Feat


Rules Questions


Could my Sylph Wind Listener wizard use the Echoing Spell feat on a spell ... and then as a follow-up use her Spontaneous Divination class ability to "convert" that echoed-back spell into a divination spell?

****

The feat's specific verbiage here:

"No effect that allows you to reprepare or recast a spell can affect the echoed spell.

If you prepare spells, this second casting does not require you to prepare it in another spell slot. "

.... leads me to believe that she could not convert that echoed-back spell into a different Divination spell. But I'd like another set of rules-savvy eyes to confirm that. Thanks!


I guess I'm looking for a clarification as to what constitutes a "reprepare or recast" of a given spell. RAW or RAI.

And if that applies to an already echoed spell ...


I think, when it says reprepare, it is talking about Pearls of Power.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

I'd say the answer to your question is no. When you cast the Echoed spell the first time, it is no longer prepared and available to convert. The feat gives you the ability to cast it again, but it doesn't use a spell slot.


On Echoing Spell, it says this -
'If you prepare spells, this second casting does not require you to prepare it in another spell slot.'

W.L.'s Spontaneous Divination requires a 'prepared spell that is not a cantrip'.

In summation, I don't see Spontaneous Divination working on an echoed spell. Although I find Echoing Spell's verbiage to be a little loose, RAW-wise. It could've been tightened-up and more objectively emphatic.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sylph Wind Listener and Echoing Spell Feat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.