Overwatch Vortex wording questions


Rules Questions


As per this feat:

Overwatch Vortex wrote:


You are ready to respond to many more of your foes’ actions.

Prerequisite(s): Overwatch Style, Overwatch Tactician, Precise Shot, Rapid Shot, Weapon Focus with the chosen weapon, base attack bonus +11.

Benefit(s): While using the Overwatch Style, as a full-round action you can ready up to four ranged attacks, each with its own triggering event. You take a –2 penalty on attack rolls made with these readied actions.

Question 1: Can I assign the same event to multiple attacks? Can they trigger at the same time?

Question 2: Do abilities like Startoss Comet count as an attack I can ready with Overwatch Style, or no? (In this case, assume I have the ability to maintain multiple styles.) Smite Evil? Combat Maneuvers if I have the feats to allow me to do that at range?


1) I don't see why you can't assign the same event to multiple attacks, but I don't think they can trigger at the same time. It's unclear, though.

2) You can only use Overwatch with a weapon you have Weapon Focus in (unless you also have the weapon training class feature for bows/crossbows/firearms, in which case you can do it with any of those).

Startoss Comet lets you make an attack but is not itself an attack, so I wouldn't let you use it here.

Smite Evil augments your attacks but is not an attack, nor could you have Weapon Focus in it.

Ranged combat maneuvers done with a weapon you have Weapon Focus in should be fine, as maneuvers are attacks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Overwatch Vortex wording questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions