Casting a scroll via spell slots


Rules Questions


So some people are able to cast a scroll via their slots, the false priest sorcerer, mnemonic vestiments, etc.

My question is, when they use these abilities are they still "using the scroll" for the effects and whatnot, or are they using their personal stats and level?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

You're talking about the False Priest sorcerer Archetype's False Channel (Su) ability, correct ?

It says "If he succeeds, the item’s spell occurs and the item or charge is not expended.". For the case of a scroll, I would read this as the scroll's spell occurs exactly as if the scroll had been used in the usual way, except that the scroll is not expended. So, yes, the character is using the scroll. The only difference is that when he is done, the scroll remains (is not expended) and one of his spell slots of the required level IS expended.

Is there a particular scenario you had in mind ?


yeah, that ability or the mnemonic vestiments

Spoiler:
If the wearer is a spontaneous caster, once per day she may use a spell slot to cast a spell from a written source (such as a scroll or spellbook) as if she knew that spell. The spell must be on her spell list, the same spell level or lower than the expended spell slot, and the same type of spell (arcane or divine) as the spell slot expended. The caster must also understand the written source (such as using Decipher Script (Editor’s Note: This should probably be Spellcraft.) or read magic) and be carrying it. Activating the robe is not an action, but casting the spell otherwise works as normal, including casting time, providing components or foci, and so on. Using a mnemonic vestment’s properties does not consume the written source.

Like I hear talk about how awesome these things are, but if it's all still at the scrolls power then I'm not sure they are as useful as people make them out to be.


Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Pretty good for buffs and other spells where the variables such as DC aren't a real factor...


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Mnemonic Vestments seems different, as it says "as if she knew that spell". In this case it's all the caster. Use all the caster's stats, because unlike a scroll, the written source may or may not have a set caster level (particularly if it is a spellbook).

And if you had a Staff/Stave for False Channel, they use their own stat or the caster's stat anyway, so you'd be golden.


so Mnemonic Vestments is as if the caster is casting so it's nice, and for the sorcerer it's just at scroll strength, so not as nice, even for buffs while full effect, aren't as long.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

It seems like Mnemonic Vestments allows you to treat written sources as if they were a Page of Spell Knowledge while False Channel lets you cast from a scroll without expending that scroll (by using a spell slot instead).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting a scroll via spell slots All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions