Giant Slings


Rules Questions


If a giant uses a sling does it increase the range? What about a huge creature? I would think that the range increases, but maybe I'm wrong. Please let me know if there is an official ruling on this that I'm missing.


Gray wrote:
If a giant uses a sling does it increase the range? What about a huge creature? I would think that the range increases, but maybe I'm wrong. Please let me know if there is an official ruling on this that I'm missing.

Nope. Range is not based on size. It stays the same. And yes, that does mean some creatures can attack an enemy further away when using a reach weapon than they can throw a weapon. (A colossal creature normally has 30' reach, which becomes 60' with a reach weapon. He can still only throw a dagger a maximum of 50 feet.)


Jeraa wrote:
Gray wrote:
If a giant uses a sling does it increase the range? What about a huge creature? I would think that the range increases, but maybe I'm wrong. Please let me know if there is an official ruling on this that I'm missing.
Nope. Range is not based on size. It stays the same. And yes, that does mean some creatures can attack an enemy further away when using a reach weapon than they can throw a weapon. (A colossal creature normally has 30' reach, which becomes 60' with a reach weapon. He can still only throw a dagger a maximum of 50 feet.)

Technically, I'd say if a giant is throwing a spear, his range begins at the end of his reach. However, that's how I'd call it, and not supported by RAW as far as I can see either.

It just strikes me odd that throwing rocks is better.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Giant Slings All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions