Constrictor Snake full Atk


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

So I have a hunter with a constrictor.
I know that she gets a free grapple when she hits with the Grab ability.
But on the following turn, what can she do? I've gotten conflicting answers.
From what I understand she can either:
Release the grapple and get another Atk+Grab
or
Maintain the grapple (at -20!!) and get her constrict damage.
But I've been told she can Atk+Grab+Constrict... just looking for a little clarity.


She maintains the grapple at +5. You take a -20 to your initial grapple check and any future checks if you try to grab and not be grappled yourself. You can basically ignore this rule.

So you attacked, and successfully grabbed, which trigger a constrict r1.
On r2 you either spend a standard action to maintain the grapple at a +5, which if you succeed would trigger constrict, OR you release the grapple and take your turn, which could be another attack that grabs and deals constrict.

Constrict damage triggers whenever you make a successful grapple check, like the one to start a grapple or maintain a grapple.

Did that clear things up?


The -20 is only if you don't want your snake to have the grappled condition.

On the first turn you attack with bite. If the attack hits you do bite damage and you get a free grapple check. If you succeed you automatically do constrict damage. On additional turns you can maintain the grapple and do bite and constrict damage if you succeed.

Edit: ninja'd

Scarab Sages

Thanks guys I really needed to understand better.

Grand Lodge

Maintain the grapple is almost always going to be the correct answer, because your CMB+5 vs their CMD is almost always going to be easier than your To Hit vs their AC followed by your CMB vs their CMD.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Constrictor Snake full Atk All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions