Evolved Summon Monster and Lantern Archon Light Rays


Rules Questions


A friend wants to know the answer to this (he did this in a game already but wants to make sure it's legal before he does this again), so here's the question:

Let's say you have Evolved Summon Monster. You cast Summon Monster III and conjure up a Lantern Archon. You give it Bleed. Do its laser beams now cause bleed?

The reason I'm asking is I can't find any lines that say it has to apply to a natural attack. Light Rays aren't natural attacks, but they ARE attacks, and the bleed ability would apply to that, right?

If I'm wrong, that's fine - I'd just love to seen an FAQ or the like so I can show my friend and we can agree not to do this in game again.

Thanks!


evolved summon monster wrote:
Evolutions that [..] enhance existing attacks can be applied only to Medium or larger summoned creatures.

Pretty sure bleed is enhancing an existing attack and Lantern Archons are small.


Ahh, okay. So if it wasn't small, it would work, but in this case doesn't?


Inlaa wrote:
Ahh, okay. So if it wasn't small, it would work, but in this case doesn't?

I didn't look too closely (I stopped looking once I got to the above conclusion), but yes it appears to work on the surface. I'm not aware of any FAQ or ruling preventing it. I think I'd houserule it to only work on natural attacks in my home game, but as it stands it certainly looks like it applies to any inherent attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Evolved Summon Monster and Lantern Archon Light Rays All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.