Can Disable Device be used one-handed?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

If a Rogue (or other character with Disable Device) is wearing a Thieves' Ring & is locked up with their hands not close to each other, can they open the ring & use the thieves tools to unlock the lock on that hand one-handed?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Also, now that I've found-
Concealable Thieves' Tools: Price 190 gp; Weight 1/2 lb.; Smaller and made of stronger materials than most thieves' tools, the items in this kit are much easier to conceal. You gain a +4 bonus on Sleight of Hand skill checks to conceal these tools on your body. They otherwise function as masterwork thieves tools (granting a +2 circumstance bonus on Disable Device checks),
why would anyone use a-
Thieves' Ring Price 300 gp; Weight —
This slightly over-sized ring conceals a few lockpicks and other tools coiled inside its band. These discreet tools, made of a metal alloy that springs straight once the tool is removed from the band, are sufficient to attempt Disable Device checks without penalty, and long enough to pick locks on manacles fastened around the wearer's hands (once she slips off the ring). The wearer gains a +2 circumstance bonus on Sleight of Hand checks made to conceal the ring's nature from anyone searching her.

The only benefit I see to the Thieves Ring is that if your captors fail to notice it, you can access it while manacled while possibly or even probably unable to access the Concealable Thieves' Tools on your body, in which case you might need to be able to use them one-handed.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The skill Disable Device does not require a set number of "hands", so there is no penalty.

As a GM, I might impose a circumstance penalty of -2 or -5 if a second hand would be require to stabilize the lock (say if it was floating], but not from only using one hand.

As to having two (or more) sets of thieves tools? Same as multiple spell component pouches and multiple divine foci. You might loose one (or have it taken) and having a spare means not slowing down.

/cevah


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thanks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can Disable Device be used one-handed? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions