Mythic Crafting Mastery + Cooperative Crafting question


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

First, for reference:

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/mythicAdventures/mythicHeroes/archmage.h tml wrote:
Crafting Mastery (Ex): You can craft any magic item as if you had the necessary item creation feats. If you actually have the item creation feat needed for a magic item you're crafting, whenever you attempt a skill check to create that item, roll twice and use the higher result, and you make twice as much progress on the item for any time spent. This ability does not reduce the item's cost or any other requirements.
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/advancedPlayersGuide/advancedFeats.html wrote:

Cooperative Crafting

Your assistance makes item crafting far more efficient.

Prerequisites: 1 rank in any Craft skill, any item creation feat.
Benefit: You can assist another character in crafting mundane and magical items. You must both possess the relevant Craft skill or item creation feat, but either one of you can fulfill any other prerequisites for crafting the item. You provide a +2 circumstance bonus on any Craft or Spellcraft checks related to making an item, and your assistance doubles the gp value of items that can be crafted each day.

I have a feeling that I already know the answer, but I just wanted to verify.

Let's say Bob has Brew Potion, Craft Wondrous Item, and Cooperative Crafting.

Let's say Harry has Crafting Mastery, but no item creation feats.

Can Bob help Harry create potions and wondrous items, or does Harry need to take Brew Potion and/or Craft Wondrous Item to get any assistance from Bob?

Thanks!


That's... a very good question, hamlord!

I can see two different solid interpretations.

Based on the bold wording, I think you fall on the the side of "nope" of the two, however,

Crafting Mastery wrote:
You can craft any magic item as if you had the necessary item creation feats.

... means (to me), that this fulfills the requisite for CC.

The requisite to craft items with CC is that you have to have the feat. Crafting Mastery treats you as if those feats, granting explicit permission.

The "any other requirements" line seems to imply any requirements that aren't based on crafting feats, otherwise the ability wouldn't do anything in the first place.

The Exchange

If you want to be super strict, mastery doesn't let you act as if you had the feats for any purpose other than crafting. So with that, coop crafting's requirement that you both have the feat isn't directly satisfied.

But if you want to role play, I can't see any super abuse you could do with that. You're already mythic so people are going to be flying around smashing dragons into the ground like railroad spikes in butter. Who cares if you saved a day or 2 when crafting your cloak last week? The dead dragons certainly won't...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mythic Crafting Mastery + Cooperative Crafting question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions