Kinetic Blade


Rules Questions


Can a Kineticist's Kinetic Blade be used in an Attack of Oppurtunity? My DM says no, I say otherwise, or it'd be useless to take.

Kinetic Blade

Element(s) universal; Type form infusion; Level 1; Burn 1
Associated Blasts any
Saving Throw none

You form a weapon using your kinetic abilities. You create a nonreach, light or one-handed weapon in your hand formed of pure energy or elemental matter. (If you're a telekineticist, you instead transfer the power of your kinetic blast to any object held in one hand.) The kinetic blade's shape is purely cosmetic and doesn't affect the damage dice, critical threat range, or critical multiplier of the kinetic blade, nor does it grant the kinetic blade any weapon special features. The object held by a telekineticist for this form infusion doesn't prevent her from using gather power.

You can use this form infusion once as part of an attack action, a charge action, or a full-attack action in order to make melee attacks with your kinetic blade. Since it's part of another action (and isn't an action itself), using this wild talent doesn't provoke any additional attacks of opportunity. The kinetic blade deals your kinetic blast damage on each hit (applying any modifiers to your kinetic blast's damage as normal, but not your Strength modifier). The blade disappears at the end of your turn. The weapon deals the same damage type that your kinetic blast deals, and it interacts with Armor Class and spell resistance as normal for a blast of its type. Even if a telekineticist uses this power on a magic weapon or another unusual object, the attack doesn't use any of the magic weapon's bonuses or effects and simply deals the telekineticist's blast damage. The kinetic blade doesn't add the damage bonus from elemental overflow.

"Making an Attack of Opportunity: An attack of opportunity is a single melee attack, and most characters can only make one per round. You don't have to make an attack of opportunity if you don't want to. You make your attack of opportunity at your normal attack bonus, even if you've already attacked in the round.

An attack of opportunity "interrupts" the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is provoked, immediately resolve the attack of opportunity, then continue with the next character's turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character's turn)."

Attack Action: An attack action is a type of standard action. Some combat options can modify only this specific sort of action. When taking an attack action, you can apply all appropriate options that modify an attack action. Thus, you can apply both Greater Weapon of the Chosen and Vital Strike to the same attack, as both modify your attack action. You can apply these to any combat option that takes the place of a melee attack made using an attack action (such as the trip combat maneuver), though options that increase damage don't cause attacks to deal damage if they wouldn't otherwise do so (such as Vital Strike and trip). You can't combine options that modify attack actions with standard actions that aren't attack actions, such as Cleave. Source: PPC:MTT

Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

An AoO isn't an attack action, a charge action, or a full-attack action, the same way you can't use Vital Strike on an AoO. However, once you've triggered a kinetic whip on one of those three types of actions, it stays around until your next turn, making it available for AoOs.


Kinetic Blade, no.
Kinetic Whip, yes.

Quote:

Kinetic Whip Element universal; Type form infusion; Level 3; Burn 2

Prerequisite kinetic blade
Associated Blasts any
Saving Throw none
You form a long tendril of energy or elemental matter. This functions as kinetic blade but counts as a reach weapon appropriate for your size. Unlike most reach weapons, the kinetic whip can also attack nearby creatures. The kinetic whip disappears at the beginning of your next turn, but in the intervening time, it threatens all squares within its reach, allowing you to make attacks of opportunity that deal the whip's usual damage.

The Concordance

If you're able to get someone to provoke during YOUR turn and you've already activated Kinetic Blade, you should be able to attack with it since it hasn't disappeared yet.

Greater Trip would do it, for example.

To take AoOs off turn requires Kinetic Whip.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Kinetic Blade All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.