Copycat, grace and attacking spell all in one round?


Rules Questions


Just need a confirmation that I understood the rules...

Copycat (Sp): You can create an illusory double of yourself as a move action.
Grace: Casting Time 1 swift action

So I can cast both AND then cast whatever spell I want to attack?

Edit: Do I also get a 5-foot step? I think not, since copycat is a move action ... but making sure. I assume I get the free actions though.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Alni wrote:

Just need a confirmation that I understood the rules...

Copycat (Sp): You can create an illusory double of yourself as a move action.
Grace: Casting Time 1 swift action

So I can cast both AND then cast whatever spell I want to attack?

Edit: Do I also get a 5-foot step? I think not, since copycat is a move action ... but making sure. I assume I get the free actions though.

Yes, and yes. In whatever order you wish:

[STANDARD] - cast a spell
[MOVE] - activate copycat
[SWIFT] - activate Grace
[NON-ACTION] - 5-foot step
[FREE] - talk about it

The best way to think of anything involving "move" is "is it movement, or is it a movement-equivalent-action". If you move 30ft, that's movement. If you pick up an item, that's a move-equivalent-action, which is not moving.

Note: some cases allow a 5-foot step even if you've been relocated. For instance, you can take a 5-foot step then cast dimension door, which will cause you to be in a different location. This is valid even though you took your 5-foot step because you haven't used a move action to move. Also, typically standing up isn't considered moving, even though your body rises from prone, because you remain in the same square, even though there is some table variance on this.


Anguish wrote:
Alni wrote:

Just need a confirmation that I understood the rules...

Copycat (Sp): You can create an illusory double of yourself as a move action.
Grace: Casting Time 1 swift action

So I can cast both AND then cast whatever spell I want to attack?

Edit: Do I also get a 5-foot step? I think not, since copycat is a move action ... but making sure. I assume I get the free actions though.

Yes, and yes. In whatever order you wish:

[STANDARD] - cast a spell
[MOVE] - activate copycat
[SWIFT] - activate Grace
[NON-ACTION] - 5-foot step
[FREE] - talk about it

The best way to think of anything involving "move" is "is it movement, or is it a movement-equivalent-action". If you move 30ft, that's movement. If you pick up an item, that's a move-equivalent-action, which is not moving.

Note: some cases allow a 5-foot step even if you've been relocated. For instance, you can take a 5-foot step then cast dimension door, which will cause you to be in a different location. This is valid even though you took your 5-foot step because you haven't used a move action to move. Also, typically standing up isn't considered moving, even though your body rises from prone, because you remain in the same square, even though there is some table variance on this.

Thank you!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

To be clear... there's not much point to casting Grace if you're not going to actually *move*. It only lasts until the end of your turn to prevent AoOs based on movement. It doesn't even prevent the AoO from casting copycat.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Copycat, grace and attacking spell all in one round? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.