Wizard Arcane Bond


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

At the 1st level a wizard may pick a familiar or a bonded object. the object can be a ring, amulet, weapon, wand, or a staff.

say i come across a amulet of spell mastery: This platinum locket only has power when used as a wizard’s bonded object. It allows the wizard to prepare an additional 6 levels of spells per day.

i can bond with it after a week and spending the right amount of gold and the 8 hour ritual assuming i had given up my previous bonded object.

so my question is this can i add additional magic abilities to this amulet even though it already has a magic ability?

for an example could i have a bonded ring of spell storing that i can upgrade later with the right amount of gold and also give it say the function of a ring of evasion.

so the ring would be able to store up to 5 lvl of spells and also give me the evasion ability?


You can do that if and only if the campaign allows "combo" magic items in general. So if you're playing PFS the answer is no, period. If it's a home game you need to ask your GM. The fact that you're adding powers to it as a bonded object and not by normal crafting doesn't come into it, though.


Paradox Fate's Traveler wrote:

At the 1st level a wizard may pick a familiar or a bonded object. the object can be a ring, amulet, weapon, wand, or a staff.

say i come across a amulet of spell mastery: This platinum locket only has power when used as a wizard’s bonded object. It allows the wizard to prepare an additional 6 levels of spells per day.

i can bond with it after a week and spending the right amount of gold and the 8 hour ritual assuming i had given up my previous bonded object.

so my question is this can i add additional magic abilities to this amulet even though it already has a magic ability?

for an example could i have a bonded ring of spell storing that i can upgrade later with the right amount of gold and also give it say the function of a ring of evasion.

so the ring would be able to store up to 5 lvl of spells and also give me the evasion ability?

There are rules for it:

"If the item is one that occupies a specific place on a character's body, the cost of adding any additional ability to that item increases by 50%. For example, if a character adds the power to confer invisibility to her ring of protection 2, the cost of adding this ability is the same as for creating a ring of invisibility multiplied by 1.5."


Yes, but the GM is not required to let PCs apply said rules to make combo items. PFS in particular does not allow it, so if OP is in PFS, they're SOL.


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Yes, but the GM is not required to let PCs apply said rules to make combo items. PFS in particular does not allow it, so if OP is in PFS, they're SOL.

The GM is never "required" to allow any rule. But it's not presented as an optional rule, so it should be part of the default assumption. But it is useful to know the house rules of PFS.


I will rephrase. Some defaults are weaker than others. AFAICT a significant fraction of GMs who allow magic item crafting don't let you make combo items. Therefore you should always ask your GM before planning around it, which is not needful for most rules despite the fact that the GM could alter any of them.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wizard Arcane Bond All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions