WotR - Mastiff and Barbarian Horde


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


A few questions came up during our last game I was wondering if anyone could help.

Mastiff - Ally

"Display this card to draw 2 cards. At the end of the turn, discard this card."

"Discard this card to explore your location."

Can you discard this card while it is displayed to explore your location?

Barbarian Horde - Henchman

"Before you attempt a combat check to defeat, randomly choose 2 characters. Each must expend a mythic charge or be dealt 1d4 Ranged combat damage."

Can you choose to take the Ranged combat damage even if you have mythic charges you could expend? Is it "take this OR this" or "take this IF YOU CAN'T this"

Thank you for the hours of fun and for any assistance.


Mastiff: No, you can't.

It's in the rules that a card you play has to come from your hand at less something specifies otherwise. Mastiff would have to say "While displayed, discard this card to explore your location" to be able to be used as you suggest.

Barbarian Horde: Hmmm. There's a FAQ on this but I can't find it quickly. My instinct is it is your choice.


I'm not sure it made it all the way to FAQ yet, but here is the discussion I think you are referring to.

It is in the Mummy's Mask rulebook on page 10.


Excellent, thank you both for the help.


Yep, that's it. Thanks Hawkmoon.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / WotR - Mastiff and Barbarian Horde All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion