Hand of the Acolyte with melee weapons


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Hi there,

If hand of the acolyte is used with a melee weapon - a weapon not designed to be thrown - does the -4 penalty for throwing a weapon not designed to be thrown occur?

Thrown weapons wrote:


It is possible to throw a weapon that isn't designed to be thrown (that is, a melee weapon that doesn't have a numeric entry in the Range column on Table: Weapons), and a character who does so takes a –4 penalty on the attack roll.
Hand of the acolyte wrote:


Hand of the Acolyte (Su): You can cause your melee weapon to fly from your grasp and strike a foe before instantly returning. As a standard action, you can make a single attack using a melee weapon at a range of 30 feet. This attack is treated as a ranged attack with a thrown weapon, except that you add your Wisdom modifier to the attack roll instead of your Dexterity modifier (damage still relies on Strength). This ability cannot be used to perform a combat maneuver. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

Thanks!


I don't believe so.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I believe "a ranged attack with a thrown weapon" is using "thrown weapon" in its technical PF sense of "a weapon meant to be thrown" and not just in the English sense of "a weapon you threw." So no, no penalty.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Hand of the Acolyte with melee weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.