Exactly when can a witch use cackle to extend a 1 round hex?


Rules Questions


I'm confused by exactly when a hex offcially ends and when can it be extended with cackle.

Round 1:


  • Sabrina the Witch walks within 30' of Donald the Otyugh.
  • Sabrina uses Evil Eye on Donald for -2 on Saves.
  • Donald succeeds on his Will save. Duration is one round.

Round 2:


  • Sabrina uses Misfortune hex on Donald.
  • Donald rolls a saving throw.
    Question 1: Does Donald still have a -2 penalty on saves from Evil Eye or did it end when Sabrina started her turn?
  • Sabrina cackles as a move-action.
    Question 2: Does this extend both Evil Eye and Misfortune for another round or just Misfortune?

Round 3:
Question 3: If Sabrina stops cackling from this point, how long is Donald affected by her Evil Eye and Misfortune hexes thus far if he failed both saves and how long if he succeeded both saves?


Per the rules, it would expire on the start of her Initiative. So, the -2 would not apply to the Misfortune Saving Throw, and the Cackle would not extend the Evil Eye hex as it's already expired (though if the Misfortune hex stuck, it would apply to that).

Silver Crusade

Although, since Cackle is a move action, you could Evil Eye, then immediately Cackle

Sovereign Court

The basic rule you're looking for is in the Combat chapter:

CRB > Combat wrote:

The Combat Round

Each round represents 6 seconds in the game world; there are 10 rounds in a minute of combat. A round normally allows each character involved in a combat situation to act.

Each round's activity begins with the character with the highest initiative result and then proceeds in order. When a character's turn comes up in the initiative sequence, that character performs his entire round's worth of actions. (For exceptions, see Attacks of Opportunity and Special Initiative Actions.)

When the rules refer to a "full round", they usually mean a span of time from a particular initiative count in one round to the same initiative count in the next round. Effects that last a certain number of rounds end just before the same initiative count that they began on.

So if during your turn (at initiative count X) you use a Hex that lasts for "one round", it ends just before the start of your next turn (at initiative count X).

So the way to use Cackle is to use it immediately after a one-round hex.


The Evil Eye is not extended and expired prior to the Misfotune or Cackle being used, therefore it is no longer a factor.

The Musfortune stuck, and will now continue whilst the Cackle continues.

Once the Cackle is ceased, the Misfortune will expire the following round on the On the Witches initiative.

Had both saves been met, then Cackle does not apply and any effects wouldn't extend.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Exactly when can a witch use cackle to extend a 1 round hex? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions