Inquisitors, Errata, and Table / Text differences


Rules Questions


I recall in 3.5 hearing that if an ability on a class table was different from the text, the text took precedence.

If this is the case in Pathfinder as well, I may have spotted an error in the PRD, on the Inquisitor. The table shows them getting detect alignment at 2nd level, but the text for the ability - unlike every other ability gained at higher levels - doesn't specify it comes at 2nd level.

So by this, inquisitors should be able to detect alignment at 1st level.

Sovereign Court

If the tables gives a level and the text contradicts it, you might have a case. Since the text doesn't give a level, you should use the level in the table.


Nope, no error.

The table shows it at 2nd level, and the text of the ability doesn't mention a level that would contradict that. I'm sure this isn't the only ability that doesn't mention a level at which it is received, and even if it is that doesn't mean that this ability should be acquired at 1st level. It more likely means that the words "At second level" should be added for clarification.

I don't know why you would remotely think Inquisitors should get detect alignment at 1st level, except that you want them to get the ability at that level.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Inquisitors, Errata, and Table / Text differences All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.