Transformation and Spell Tinker


Rules Questions

The Exchange

I have a player that is asking if he would be able to use the arcane exploit Spell Tinker while under the effect of Transformation.

Spell Tinker:
PRD says wrote:
Spell Tinkerer (Su): The arcanist can alter an existing spell effect by expending 1 point from her arcane reservoir. To use this ability, she must be adjacent to the spell effect (or the effect's target) and be aware of the effect. She can choose to increase or decrease the remaining duration of the spell by 50%. This ability can be used on unwilling targets, but the arcanist must succeed at a melee touch attack, and the target may attempt a Will saving throw to negate the effect. This ability cannot be used on a given spell effect more than once. This ability has no effect on spells that are instantaneous or have a duration of permanent.

Transforamtion:
PRD says wrote:

TRANSFORMATION

School transmutation; Level sorcerer/wizard 6
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (a potion of bull's strength, which you drink and whose effects are subsumed by the spell effects)
Range personal
Target you
Duration 1 round/level
You become a fighting machine—stronger, tougher, faster, and more skilled in combat. Your mindset changes so that you relish combat and you can't cast spells, even from magic items.

You gain a +4 enhancement bonus to Strength, Dexterity, and Constitution, a +4 natural armor bonus to AC, a +5 competence bonus on Fortitude saves, and proficiency with all simple and martial weapons. Your base attack bonus equals your character level (which may give you multiple attacks).

You lose your spellcasting ability, including your ability to use spell activation or spell completion magic items, just as if the spells were no longer on your class list.


Nope, while under the effect of the spell, you are effectively a non-caster in all respects.

(And before someone throws in, we're not assuming Mythic rules here.)


If it was (Sp) definitely not. (Su) is less clear, it's not blocked by the rules text but the flavour text is that you can't use magic because your mindset changes. As such you probably can't due to not wanting to.


I would say yes, you can use the Spell Tinkerer as it's a part of the "Arcanist Exploits" class ability section.

Transformation specifically calls out losing your Spellcasting class ability and the spell completion/trigger abilities that come as riders on it.

You dont simply lose all class abilities from casting the spell, it's very clear what you lose and anything not listed there would be retained.


However when that spell was made Arcanists weren't around, so it bears in mind that intent(which one could get from the flavor of the spell) is no to magical abilities.


Sorcerors were, would you also say that their Bloodline powers dont work? Would a Sorc with the Abyssal Bloodline not be able to use his Claws power?

Would you say a Wizard loses the benefits from a feat chosen with their Bonus Feat class feature?

The spell says you lose spellcasting. Any class that has "Spells" or "Spell Casting" or anything close to that verbiage would lose any benefits from that class ability (and the completion/trigger abilities that go alone with it).

Anything else gained from the class would not be limited.


Transformation does what it says it does and nothing more. It says nothing about losing any (Ex) or (Su) abilities, just spells (which covers the Sp abilities as well) and the ability to use Spell Activation or Spell Completion items. Spell Tinker should still work.

Otherwise an Alchemist who drinks a Transformation extract suddenly finds that their extracts no longer function, their ability to drink Mutagens vanishes, and their Bombs stop working. A Sorcerer suddenly loses most of their Bloodline powers. Etc.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Transformation and Spell Tinker All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions