Bodywraps of mighty strikes & Amulet of mighty fists Interaction


Rules Questions


Heyho,

let's say there is a PC with these two items and natural attacks or unarmed strikes as weapons.

There are some abilities, that let you switch/add the enhancement bonus of the weapon to something else, namely Guardian, Defending or Brawling.

What is considered the weapon in this case? Is it the natural attack/unarmed strike or is it the amulet/bodywraps?

Because in the former case, I could just make a +3 bodywraps, while I put Guardian and Brawling to the amulet, thus saving money by seperating enhancement bonus and special abilities?

Is this legit or are there any rules objections I might have overseen?

Thank you very much!


Both items are augmenting the same weapon, your unarmed strike. Which is, in effect, your whole body.

An Amulet of Mighty Strikes keyed to Flaming and Frost and a Bodywrap of Mighty Strikes +2 interact favorably. You get 1d6 fire and 1d6 cold damage on every hit, and additionally, you get a +2 enhancement bonus to one unarmed strike a round (plus one per normal iterative attack).

Note that if the Amulet has any innate enhancement bonus instead of just weapon special modifiers, that part wouldn't stack.


I knew about the flaming AOMF stacking with a +x body wrap. My question is a bit more tricky:

I'm going to have the +3 enhancement bonus on the body wrap, and now I want to add this +3 enhancement to my CMB via the brawling enchantment, which lies on the amulet though (so one item using the enhancement Bonus of another). Since, as you said, they both augment my unarmed strike, it should work from my understanding, but I'm almost certain I won't get it past the Rules as Written.

I am aware that the Body wrap does not work all the time (only for a limited number of attacks per round) and this might be my mistake, but in case of the brawling enchantment, one could easily say that with every combat maneuver I take one use per round.

Concerning the Guardian enchantment, it gets a bit trickier, because it gives you the enhancement Bonus to saves for a whole round, which does not interact well with the limited uses of the bodywrap. However, one could say each saving throw Counts against the uses per round.

Sorry if I did not make clear the question in the first place.


Okay, I see the question now. I think the use of the word "weapon" when referring to the enhancement bonus for Brawler and Guardian is meant to be self referential. They likely won't work on items that don't have both the special quality and an enhancement bonus.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bodywraps of mighty strikes & Amulet of mighty fists Interaction All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions