Marc Radle
|
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
Just released!
New Paths 9: The Priest from Kobold Press!
Your Faith Shall Be Your Weapon.
Like a cleric, a priest is called to serve divine powers. But unlike a cleric, a priest enters the field of battle armed only with the divine might of her god. A priest’s connection to her deity forms the very core of her being—and through this unwavering reverence, she gains her power and her strength.
New Paths 9: The Priest brings a non-battle, caster-only servant of the divine to the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game!
Let clerics have their hierarchies and temples: a priest ultimately answers only to her god. It is both a freedom and a heavy burden—but with it comes great power!
Features:
- Access to more domains and the ability to cast more than one domain spell
- Full divine (cleric/oracle) spell casting using a unique casting mechanic
- More domains and can cast either 1 or 2 bonus domain spells per
- Divine Gift class ability which allows the priest to perform various divine acts at a moments notice
- Improved Channeling
- Sacred Bond
- New feats (including Powerful Channel)
- A new archetype: Chosen of Nature
- ... and more
| DungeonmasterCal |
Before I get started on my review, I have a question about the following two paragraphs:
In addition to the normal spells a priest prepares
at each level, a good priest (or a neutral priest of a
good deity) is treated as having prepared the cure
spell of the appropriate level as a bonus spell. A
cure spell is one with “cure” in the name.
An evil priest (or a neutral priest who worships
an evil deity) is treated as having prepared the
inflict spell of the appropriate level (an inflict spell
is one with “inflict” in its name).
Does this mean the priest gets the cure or inflict spells as EXTRA spells on top of of the others prepared or is it the same as the swapping out of a prepared for spell for a cure or inflict spell that the cleric has?
Marc Radle
|
Before I get started on my review, I have a question about the following two paragraphs:
In addition to the normal spells a priest prepares
at each level, a good priest (or a neutral priest of a
good deity) is treated as having prepared the cure
spell of the appropriate level as a bonus spell. A
cure spell is one with “cure” in the name.An evil priest (or a neutral priest who worships
an evil deity) is treated as having prepared the
inflict spell of the appropriate level (an inflict spell
is one with “inflict” in its name).Does this mean the priest gets the cure or inflict spells as EXTRA spells on top of of the others prepared or is it the same as the swapping out of a prepared for spell for a cure or inflict spell that the cleric has?
Hey there!
I answered this up in the main product thread :)
| Quintain |
Question on the priests channel energy progression from standard to move to swift actions. When gaining the next level that changes the action type, does the priest retain the prior tier ability?
As in, when he changes from a standard action to a move action, can he still use a standard action to channel as before. The same applies to changing from move action to swift.
Marc Radle
|
Question on the priests channel energy progression from standard to move to swift actions. When gaining the next level that changes the action type, does the priest retain the prior tier ability?
As in, when he changes from a standard action to a move action, can he still use a standard action to channel as before. The same applies to changing from move action to swift.
Hey there! Interesting question.
It's actually more of a general Pathfinder rule question though. The priest's channel energy ability functions (and is worded) very similarly to a bard's Bardic Performance ability as far as being able to use the ability as a move, them swift action at higher levels. So, however the rules treat Bardic Performance would apply here as well.
I probably just haven't had enough coffee yet to understand why you would want to channel as a standard action, when you can do it as a move or swift, but, since the ability says "At 7th level, a priest can channel energy as a move action instead of a standard action ..." I'd say the priest (or bard, in the case of Bardic Performance) can do it as a move or swift, but isn't forced to (I.e., they can still opt to do so as a standard if they wanted)
Does that help?
| Quintain |
Marc,
The reason why is for flexibility. If I have already used my swift action on a different activity, I can't use channel energy that round if I'm restricted to only a swift action. Same applies to all other action types.
There isn't a rule in Pathfinder that allows for transferring action types.
Marc Radle
|
Marc,
The reason why is for flexibility. If I have already used my swift action on a different activity, I can't use channel energy that round if I'm restricted to only a swift action. Same applies to all other action types.
There isn't a rule in Pathfinder that allows for transferring action types.
Excellent point (now that I have had more coffee :)
Like I said, my take is that the priest (or bard, in the case of Bardic Performance) can do use their class ability as a move or swift once they reach the appropriate level, but that doesn't mean they are forced to (I.e., they can still opt to do so as a standard or move if they wanted, as the case may be)
Here's what James Jacobs had to say on the question "Can a bard still use the 'lesser' action type if he wants? I.e., can a 13th level bard still start a bardic performance as a standard or move action instead of as a swift, or *must* he use the swift action?"
Yes. Nothing in the description of the bard class says anything about losing previous powers and options. You don't lose the ability to cast 3rd level spells just because you gain the ability to cast 4th level spells, for example.
Furthermore, it's illogical that gaining levels should reduce your options.
A 13th level bard can start a bardic performance as a standard, move, or swift action. (He can't start multiple performances in a round though.)
If James says it, it's good enough for me! So, much like the bard, a 14th level priest gains the ability to channel energy as a swift action, but he can still opt to do so as a move or standard instead if he wishes.
| Quintain |
Quintain wrote:Marc,
The reason why is for flexibility. If I have already used my swift action on a different activity, I can't use channel energy that round if I'm restricted to only a swift action. Same applies to all other action types.
There isn't a rule in Pathfinder that allows for transferring action types.
Excellent point (now that I have had more coffee :)
Like I said, my take is that the priest (or bard, in the case of Bardic Performance) can do use their class ability as a move or swift once they reach the appropriate level, but that doesn't mean they are forced to (I.e., they can still opt to do so as a standard or move if they wanted, as the case may be)
Here's what James Jacobs had to say on the question "Can a bard still use the 'lesser' action type if he wants? I.e., can a 13th level bard still start a bardic performance as a standard or move action instead of as a swift, or *must* he use the swift action?"
Yes. Nothing in the description of the bard class says anything about losing previous powers and options. You don't lose the ability to cast 3rd level spells just because you gain the ability to cast 4th level spells, for example.
Furthermore, it's illogical that gaining levels should reduce your options.
A 13th level bard can start a bardic performance as a standard, move, or swift action. (He can't start multiple performances in a round though.)
If James says it, it's good enough for me! So, much like the bard, a 14th level priest gains the ability to channel energy as a swift action, but he can still opt to do so as a move or standard instead if he wishes.
Fantastic find on the quote, Marc. Don't suppose you have a link to the original post do you?
Wolfgang Baur
Kobold Press
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Incidentally, just how is the amount of starting wealth arrived at? Is there some sort of arcane formula for figuring it out or is just a random amount determined at the time of class creation?
If there is a formula, it is hidden in the Wizards or Paizo vaults somewhere.
From a reverse-engineering perspective, it just needs to be enough to buy minimal starting equipment. That number is (by necessity) higher for combat classes that buy armor and weapons than it is for non-combat classes.