Are an ally's objects "unattended"?


Rules Questions


I'm amazed my search-fu hasn't found this asked before, but for spells/feats/abilities that only work on "unattended objects", do a willing ally's objects count as "unattended"?

Basically I have a tiefling and I'm pondering getting Grasping Tail for her, as she already has the Prehensile Tail racial trait.

The wording seems straightforward enough:

PRD wrote:
If you have the prehensile tail racial trait, you can use your tail to grab unattended items within 5 feet as a swift action as well as to grab stowed objects carried on your person; you can hold such objects with your tail, though you cannot manipulate them with your tail (other than to put them in your hand).

The problem is, unless this includes objects on your allies' persons I don't see it as anything beyond a "glorified litter-picker-upper" feat. "Oh, good. I can pick up anything off the ground within 5 feet of me as a swift action. Too bad that fumble card knocked my weapon 20 feet away from me..."

If I can loot my allies' stuff, I see all kinds of fun uses for it. "'scuze me while I grab that potion of CSW, 'k? The fighter needs it more than you do!"

If all item-passing is still move actions, spending a feat for a "please drop that so I can spend a swift action to pick it up" ability seems rather silly.

It seems commonsense to allow allies to allow you to treat their objects as unattended if they're OK with it, but I figured I'd ask here. I do seem to set off firestorms with what seem to be straightforward questions. Maybe it's just me.

EDIT: And clearly we'd need to work out house rules on containers: What happens if the object is in the ally's backpack? Their belt pouch? Their Handy Haversack? But for now I'm just thinking of stuff the ally might keep handy on a belt loop or whatnot that might be useful to me.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
NobodysHome wrote:
It seems commonsense to allow allies to allow you to treat their objects as unattended if they're OK with it, but I figured I'd ask here.

This is exactly what this amounts to, the rules say no, but common sense says yes. So ask your GM.

However, worth noting is that the definition of attended on at least one page is "grasped, touched, or worn", so items on a belt, or within a bag on the belt, may not actually count and therefore are grabbable.

Liberty's Edge

It's mostly used for tieflings who want to reload dual firearms (shift one pistol to the tail and reload the other) or shift a weapon while spellcasting, IIRC. But to try to answer your question . . .

Magic wrote:
The spell can be cast on objects, which receive saving throws only if they are magical or if they are attended (held, worn, grasped, or the like) by a creature resisting the spell, in which case the object uses the creature's saving throw bonus unless its own bonus is greater.

Bolded text is what I'd go off of. This is the only mention of the word "attended" in the Magic chapter.

Attended seems to be defined as being "held, worn, grasped, or the like." The "by a creature resisting the spell" bit is an extra condition for spells - they must be both attended AND attended by a creature resisting the spell. So RAW you can't borrow stuff from your allies as a swift action, though it really wouldn't be game-breaking to be able to.


I wouldn't allow it with people who have just met each other. But once people have some time to talk tactics, then let the players talk tactics.

I can especially see it for things like healing potions used for the good of the party.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Are an ally's objects "unattended"? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions