Headband of intellect and Trained skill


Rules Questions


If you create/upgrade a headband of intellect, can you add (and then use) a trained only skill to it, or it has to be untrained only skills?

For example: could you choose disable device as the skill associated with it when you create a new headbeand of intellect and then use it just like if you were trained into that skill?

thanks


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Not really sure what you're asking.

You gain ranks in the associated skill equal to your class levels (and hit dice, if any). It does not become a class skill if it wasn't one already (so no +3 bonus). If you already have ranks in the skill, these new ranks overlap with your existing ranks, and do not stack.

When you create (or upgrade) a new headband, you can choose what skill(s) it grants. To my knowledge, the creator does not necessarily need to possess ranks in said skill.

Does that help?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

To add to RD's answer:

The skill(s) a headband has can be any skill(s), trained only or not, chosen at the time of creation of the headband.


RD and Chemlak are correct.
Yes, you can add disable device to a headband, when you wear it you gain those skill ranks. For all intents and purposes you are now trained in disable device.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Headband of intellect and Trained skill All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.