What happens when a "change shape"d creature dies.


Rules Questions


As the title.

What happens when a creature affected by the change shape universal monster ability dies?

Does it maintain its current shape or does it revert to a default?

A corollory: what happens when a kitsune in human form dies?

Thanks for the help


Bump


Werewolves change into human shape, but the rules are silent on other shape changers. It will be up to the GM since there is no official answer that I found.


I'd say the spell ends as the spell is now affecting an illegal target.

Shapechange affects the caster, a creature. A dead body is an object and does not make a legal target. It is clearer with respect to spells with an actual target line, such as Polymorph.

An instantaneous spell like Baleful Polymorph would not end.

All in my opinion, of course.


Starfox wrote:

I'd say the spell ends as the spell is now affecting an illegal target.

Shapechange affects the caster, a creature. A dead body is an object and does not make a legal target. It is clearer with respect to spells with an actual target line, such as Polymorph.

An instantaneous spell like Baleful Polymorph would not end.

All in my opinion, of course.

They were asking about creatures that can change shape, not spells, but if I were a GM I would make the change upon death also.


A long thread a couple of months back convinced me that the only rational, consistent way to handle death is that the valid target check only happens when the spell is applied, so for a polymorph spell I'd wait until its duration expired for the corpse to change back.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What happens when a "change shape"d creature dies. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions