Is a Shaman Game Breaking?


Rules Questions


So I found the Shaman class extremely interesting and began creating a character for my new campaign. What I found was that a level 1 Shaman would be able to cast level 5 spells. Is this right? From what I understand Shaman's don't have a spells known list, they are assumed to know all the spells from the Shaman spell list. From a Shaman's spells per day list, the Shaman can prepare 3 different orisons and 1 1st level spell each day at 1st level. With a Wisdom score of 20 his 5 modifier grants him 2 bonus spells of 1st level and 1 bonus spell from 2nd to 5th level. Pathfinder states that to prepare or cast a spell, a shaman must have a Wisdom score of 10 + spell level. Is this all correct? Is there something I'm missing?

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

2 people marked this as a favorite.
RandomNigel wrote:
So I found the Shaman class extremely interesting and began creating a character for my new campaign. What I found was that a level 1 Shaman would be able to cast level 5 spells. Is this right? From what I understand Shaman's don't have a spells known list, they are assumed to know all the spells from the Shaman spell list. From a Shaman's spells per day list, the Shaman can prepare 3 different orisons and 1 1st level spell each day at 1st level. With a Wisdom score of 20 his 5 modifier grants him 2 bonus spells of 1st level and 1 bonus spell from 2nd to 5th level. Pathfinder states that to prepare or cast a spell, a shaman must have a Wisdom score of 10 + spell level. Is this all correct? Is there something I'm missing?

For starters, the bonus spells for a high casting stat has nothing to do with the Shaman. It's a universal rule for all spellcasters.

More to the point, the bonus spells granted by a high ability score only apply to spell levels you can already cast. So you get your extra 1st-level spells per day, but you don't get the others until you reach those spell levels.


RandomNigel wrote:
So I found the Shaman class extremely interesting and began creating a character for my new campaign. What I found was that a level 1 Shaman would be able to cast level 5 spells. Is this right? From what I understand Shaman's don't have a spells known list, they are assumed to know all the spells from the Shaman spell list. From a Shaman's spells per day list, the Shaman can prepare 3 different orisons and 1 1st level spell each day at 1st level. With a Wisdom score of 20 his 5 modifier grants him 2 bonus spells of 1st level and 1 bonus spell from 2nd to 5th level. Pathfinder states that to prepare or cast a spell, a shaman must have a Wisdom score of 10 + spell level. Is this all correct? Is there something I'm missing?

Bonus spells only apply to spell levels that you can normally cast. Shaman is a full caster and will not gain Level 5 spell slots until 9th level Shaman. However, a +5 mod will still give them 2 bonus Level 1 spells per day, and when they level up to 3, it will give them 1 bonus Level 2 once they're able to cast them normally.

Sometimes, you'll see a spell-table listing 0 spells per day, this is for the sake of giving the caster the ability to cast spells of that level if they have bonus spells. (Paladin, example)


okay. the part about preparing and casting spells based on your Wisdom score kind of confused me then. So regardless of my Wisdom score I can't cast 5th level spells until I obtain "slots" to which the "extra slots" can be added.

Grand Lodge

Correct, as shown in the FAQ.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is a Shaman Game Breaking? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions