Black Spot vs Fear


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Here's another fun one for you helpful folks.

I was introducing the game to some friends last night, and we had some trouble with the difference between the Fear spell and the Black Spot spell. I know that Black Spot can be used on someone else's check while Fear can not, but I was not able to explain the difference. The wording between them is similar, neither spell limited to 'your' check and neither spell specifically allowing 'any' check.

Can someone point me to the pertinent rule?


p.29 of the S&S rulebook provides some insight:

"No One Else Can Take Your Turn for You. Whenever you encounter a card or make a check, you—and only you—must resolve it. No other character can evade it, defeat it, acquire it, close it, decide what to do with it, or fail at doing any of those things. If Seltyiel encounters a monster, Merisiel can’t evade it for him. If Alahazra encounters a Zombie, Valeros can’t attempt the check to defeat it. If Lini encounters a Large Chest, Merisiel cannot use Thieves’ Tools against it. If Lirianne defeats a henchman at the Sea Fort, Valeros can’t banish an armor to close the location. If the game tells you to do something, you have to do it."

Fear has an implied "you" in the wording. You can't make someone else evade a monster with it.


That's it, thanks! I was thinking it was the difference between helping someone solve their problem and solving their problem for them. Thanks for the help.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Black Spot vs Fear All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion