Does Litany of Escape Work on Yourself?


Rules Questions


Hello. I'm playing a paladin and I have access to level three paladin spells. One of them is Litany of Escape, which states:

"With a powerful prayer, you call upon the servants of your god to whisk a friend out of a grapple. The target loses the grappled and pinned conditions and is teleported 10 feet. If there is no available space for the target to teleport to, the spell fails."

The target of the spell is: one willing creature that is grappled.

The target says "one willing creature", but the spell's description says "a friend". Can I cast this on myself if need be?

Thanks in advance!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Usually you are your own ally, unless this would make no sense. I think this spell would work on yourself, too - assuming you pass that nasty concentration check.


You count as your own ally


Thank you, everyone!

The Exchange

Vatras wrote:
. . .assuming you pass that nasty concentration check.
Quote:
Grappling or Pinned: Casting a spell while you have the grappled or pinned condition is difficult and it requires a concentration check (DC 10 + the grappler's CMB + the level of the spell you're casting). Pinned creatures can only cast spells that do not have somatic components.


Vatras wrote:
Usually you are your own ally, unless this would make no sense. I think this spell would work on yourself, too - assuming you pass that nasty concentration check.

Therein lies the rub... especially when you're talking about a Big Thing with an extremely high CMD, and the fact that your caster level isn't that high.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does Litany of Escape Work on Yourself? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions