GM Question. Devastator: Absorb Good Magic (Su)


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

so this monster called a Devastator from Bestiary 5 has an ability called Absorb Good Magic. here is the description: "Whenever a spell with the good descriptor includes a devastator as a target or in its area or effect, the caster must succeed at a DC 38 caster level check or the devastator negates the entire spell and gains 5 temporary hit points per spell level of the spell absorbed that last 1 hour."
the problem i have with this is the creature has Spell resistance 33. my question is, when an enemy casts a Good Spell does it have to bypass the Absorb Good ability first or the Spell resistance?

Liberty's Edge

Followup question. i tend to Use the SRD for my stats as it is easier to organize than the books. i dont own a copy of Bestiary 5 to see a picture and the description of this thing is not very good. does anyone have a picture of this monster or a better description?


I say if the spell does not beat SR, the monster is not affected, i.e. the spell does not exist for it and cannot be absorbed.
It would be OK, if you rule that it absorbs them anyway, SR notwithstanding, by giving absorption a higher priority than SR.

If a spell with the good descriptor would not allow a SR check, absorption would kick in anyway...not that I can think of one right now.

The picture looks like a lovechild between a demon and a qinged construct wearing Warhammer 40000 armor. It wields four manga-sized weapons (ball & chain, whip, axe and some other axelike thing).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

First the absorb would apply, as it was targeted even if spell resistance causes the spell to not affect it. If the caster beats the absorb, then the caster would still have to beat spell resistance to affect it.

I think.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / GM Question. Devastator: Absorb Good Magic (Su) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.