| gabriel garon |
I have a question about monsters who cast spells as a class and how it interacts with 0-level spells per day. Since the Cantrips/Orisons is a class ability, does that means that a ghaele, by example, who can cast spells as a 13th level cleric can't cast any orison at all? Or can they cast them, but the spells are expended upon casting? Or can they cast them at will? According to the table they'd be sble to cast orisons, but according to the lavk of the "orison" ability, they couldn't.
| Drahliana Moonrunner |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
If I'm putting things like ghales onto the field, zero-level spells are at the absolute bottom priority of things to worry about. If the bestiary entries look like the spell array for the appropriate class than run it as that class includeing zero level spells at will... but again, if you summon a ghale and you only have it for rounds per level... are you really going to waste them on orisons and cantrips???
| gabriel garon |
"Spells: Ghaeles cast spells as 13th level clerics. They do not gain access to domains or any other cleric ability." -Bestiary p. 25
Spells: A cleric casts divine spells which are drawn from the cleric spell list presented in Spell Lists. Her alignment, however, may restrict her from casting certain spells opposed to her moral or ethical beliefs; see chaotic, evil, good, and lawful spells. A cleric must choose and prepare her spells in advance.
To prepare or cast a spell, a cleric must have a Wisdom score equal to at least 10 + the spell level. The Difficulty Class for a saving throw against a cleric's spell is 10 + the spell level + the cleric's Wisdom modifier.
"Spells: Like other spellcasters, a cleric can cast only a certain number of spells of each spell level per day. Her base daily spell allotment is given on Table: Cleric. In addition, she receives bonus spells per day if she has a high Wisdom score (see Table: Ability Modifiers and Bonus Spells).
Clerics meditate or pray for their spells. Each cleric must choose a time when she must spend 1 hour each day in quiet contemplation or supplication to regain her daily allotment of spells. A cleric may prepare and cast any spell on the cleric spell list, provided that she can cast spells of that level, but she must choose which spells to prepare during her daily meditation." - Core rulebook p.40
The only place i saw something that can be resumed to "orisons at will" is under the "Orisons" cleric/druid ability
"Orisons: Clerics can prepare a number of orisons, or 0-level spells, each day, as noted on Table: Cleric under “Spells per Day.” These spells are cast like any other spell, but they are not expended when cast and may be used again." - core rulebook p. 41
Since ghaeles dont gain any cleric ability other than "Spells", they dont gain the "orisons" ability. So that would mean that 0-level spells are expendex upon casting.
Which quote/page from Core Rulebook's Magic chapter says that 0-level spells can be cast at will?