Rules Question about Varril from the Inquisition deck


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Hello all.

I'm a little confused about Varril's "When you attempt any check you may discard a card to use your Divine skill instead of any listed skill" power (although I love it, best thing since sliced bread).

I have been using it for ranged checks making my light crossbow use divine skill + 1d8. I just pulled the archers bracers which add 2 to any ranged check.

So even though I'm using my divine skill this is still a ranged check even though I'm using divine intervention to improve my aim, correct?

I am having a blast with this guy. He may join the dream team if he can catch up. :)


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

No, it is no longer a Ranged check if you replace Ranged with Divine (it is still a combat check however if a combat check was called for). The key phrase is that the power says "use your Divine skill instead of any listed skill" -- the original skill is no longer being used once that power happens. As such, archers bracers does not work on the check.


skizzerz wrote:
No, it is no longer a Ranged check if you replace Ranged with Divine (it is still a combat check however if a combat check was called for). The key phrase is that the power says "use your Divine skill instead of any listed skill" -- the original skill is no longer being used once that power happens. As such, archers bracers does not work on the check.

But isn't the crossbow itself still adding the Ranged trait?


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Longshot11 wrote:
skizzerz wrote:
No, it is no longer a Ranged check if you replace Ranged with Divine (it is still a combat check however if a combat check was called for). The key phrase is that the power says "use your Divine skill instead of any listed skill" -- the original skill is no longer being used once that power happens. As such, archers bracers does not work on the check.
But isn't the crossbow itself still adding the Ranged trait?

Er, yes, it is. >_<

So while you aren't using your Ranged skill at all, the check is still a Ranged check if the card you played has the Ranged trait (all the traits on the card you use to determine which skill you're using -- the crossbow in this case -- are added as traits on the check). Sorry for misinforming you above.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Rules Question about Varril from the Inquisition deck All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion