Fire Supremacy and Flame-Touched


Rules Questions


Does the flame-touched trait that grants DR 1 against fire creatures and attacks stack with the wizard elemental fire school ability Fire Supremacy that grants resistance 5 to fire for a total of resistance 6 to fire?

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 16

PRD wrote:
If a creature has damage reduction from more than one source, the two forms of damage reduction do not stack. Instead, the creature gets the benefit of the best damage reduction in a given situation.

So no, they do not stack together.

Liberty's Edge

Damage Reduction and Fire Resistance are different things.

Flame Touched gives you DR 1/- against fire creatures... but DR does not apply to energy attacks. So, if a red dragon bit you the DR 1/- would apply, if it breathed fire on you the DR 1/- would NOT apply.

Fire Supremacy grants fire resistance 5... which works the opposite way, it would reduce damage from a fire breath weapon, but not damage from a bite attack.

DR reduces physical damage. Resistance reduces energy damage.

Scarab Sages

Kotello wrote:
Does the flame-touched trait that grants DR 1 against fire creatures and attacks stack with the wizard elemental fire school ability Fire Supremacy that grants resistance 5 to fire for a total of resistance 6 to fire?

CBDunkerson has it right. The DR would apply to physical damage dealt and the fire resistance would apply to fire damage.

So they could sort of stack, with regard to a single attack that deals both fire damage and physical damage. They don't stack, but they could both apply to a single attack.

In example, if a creature with the fire subtype attacks while wielding a torch as an improvised weapon, the DR would apply to the bludegoning damage of the attack and the fire resistance would apply to the fire damage part of the attack.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Does this trait even work?

There's no such thing as 'The Fire Type'. A flaming longsword doesn't have a 'fire type', nor does a Red Dragon. They have a fire subtype. If this trait applies to the fire subtype it works against a single spell (meteor swarm), and only a handful of enemies.

Errata?

Silver Crusade

-_-

Subtype is still a Type. Quit being so pedantic.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Fire Supremacy and Flame-Touched All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions