| DocShock |
I'm looking at the Strike and Seize One-Handed-Weapon Trick from the Weapon Master's Handbook, and wondering how some of the nuances have been interpreted, because it seems quite powerful and quite cool to to me.
Lets start with the rules
Strike and Seize
As a standard action, you can make a single attack with your weapon and attempt to perform a disarm combat maneuver with your free hand, taking no penalties for two-weapon fighting.
Disarm
You can attempt to disarm your opponent in place of a melee attack. If you do not have the Improved Disarm feat, or a similar ability, attempting to disarm a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. Attempting to disarm a foe while unarmed imposes a –4 penalty on the attack.
If your attack is successful, your target drops one item it is carrying of your choice (even if the item is wielded with two hands). If your attack exceeds the CMD of the target by 10 or more, the target drops the items it is carrying in both hands (maximum two items if the target has more than two hands). If your attack fails by 10 or more, you drop the weapon that you were using to attempt the disarm. If you successfully disarm your opponent without using a weapon, you may automatically pick up the item dropped.
I have the following questions
1.) If I'm using my free hand, do I take the -4 penalty for being unarmed? Or am I considered armed with the weapon in my other hand?
2.) If I succeed, do I get to pick the disarmed item up automatically, as when disarming without using a weapon?
3.) If I fail by 10 or more, do I drop my weapon?
4.) If I have weapon finesse and/or a finessable weapon in the other hand, can I apply my dex mod to my CMB check instead of strength? I should be able to do that if I were using the weapon, right?
| swoosh |
1) You're making the disarm attempt with your free hand, so yes -4.
2) Your free hand has to be free. That is, unarmed, so yes.
3) Only if your DM rules it's possible to drop an unarmed strike
4) Yes. Unarmed Strike is a weapon and an eligible target for Weapon Finesse and Disarm is a combat maneuver that can be performed with a weapon.
However, regarding 2 and 4: There is some potential RAW murkiness in that you have to disarm without a weapon to be able to grab it afterward and an unarmed strike is a weapon. So a very strict ruling might be that since you're using your unarmed strike to disarm you cannot grab the weapon afterwards.
I've never seen any GM rule that way though.