Polymorph any Object as it applies to racial feats.


Rules Questions


So, in a campaign I am in, my Tiefling needs to change his appearance, and Is having a sorcerer use the spell Polymorph any Object to do it.

So, if his race changes to something like a Vanara, what happens to his Armor of the Pit feat? Is it lost? Can it be replaced with another feat?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Polymorph spells only do what they say they do, and one thing they definitely don't do is change your type or subtypes, so even though you've been PAOd into another form, you are still a tiefling.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

Even if a polymorph effect were to negate a feat - say, a feat that grants a bite attack and you were polymorphed into a form without a mouth - you still wouldn't get to freely replace it. It would just be unusable in that form.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ask your GM because PaO is pretty much unplayable from a raw perspective.

If you're using it as prescribed, to go from tiefling to vanara then most people will say it works as greater polymorph, and greater polymorph will say it works as alter self, the only difference being its permanent.

You gain or lose the following:

darkvision 60 feet, low-light vision, scent, and swim 30 feet.

Gain a +10 bonus to disguise.

~
And thats it. Just be sure you don't use PaO to turn into a pit fiend or any outsider for that matter since there are no rules for it.


I realized I didn't answer your direct question.

The answer is probably, but ask your DM.

Relevant rules text:

While under the effects of a polymorph spell, you lose all extraordinary and supernatural abilities that depend on your original form (such as keen senses, scent, and darkvision), as well as any natural attacks and movement types possessed by your original form. You also lose any class features that depend upon form, but those that allow you to add features (such as sorcerers that can grow claws) still function. While most of these should be obvious, the GM is the final arbiter of what abilities depend on form and are lost when a new form is assumed. Your new form might restore a number of these abilities if they are possessed by the new form.


Polymorph subschool says this though:

Quote:
While under the effects of a polymorph spell, you lose all extraordinary and supernatural abilities that depend on your original form (such as keen senses, scent, and darkvision), as well as any natural attacks and movement types possessed by your original form. You also lose any class features that depend upon form, but those that allow you to add features (such as sorcerers that can grow claws) still function. While most of these should be obvious, the GM is the final arbiter of what abilities depend on form and are lost when a new form is assumed. Your new form might restore a number of these abilities if they are possessed by the new form.

Since Armor of the Pit works off of scaled skin, and he loses that skin when he is transformed I would say he should probably loses the bonus from Armor of the Pit as well.

However, its always be hard to adjudicate what exactly should and shouldn't be retained when being polymorphed.

The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I interpret the first sentence as meaning they actually turn into the new thing, types and subtypes and all.

Polymorph any Object wrote:
This spell functions like greater polymorph, except that it changes one object or creature into another.

Liberty's Edge

Trimalchio wrote:

Ask your GM because PaO is pretty much unplayable from a raw perspective.

If you're using it as prescribed, to go from tiefling to vanara then most people will say it works as greater polymorph, and greater polymorph will say it works as alter self, the only difference being its permanent.

You gain or lose the following:

darkvision 60 feet, low-light vision, scent, and swim 30 feet.

Gain a +10 bonus to disguise.

~
And thats it. Just be sure you don't use PaO to turn into a pit fiend or any outsider for that matter since there are no rules for it.

You forget: turning into a medium sized creature: +2 size bonus to strength.

It don't matter if you are already medium sized. You get it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Polymorph any Object as it applies to racial feats. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.