Magic Jar + Sneak Attack


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

if Magic Jar is used to possess the body of a Rogue, can the possessor utilize the rogue's Sneak Attack ability? is sneak attack, since it is not qualified as (Ex) or (Su) or (Sp) a natural or automatic ability in terms of the spell's function?


I would say no.

Magic Jar wrote:


You keep your Intelligence, Wisdom, Charisma, level, class, base attack bonus, base save bonuses, alignment, and mental abilities. The body retains its Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, hit points, natural abilities, and automatic abilities.

SA is a feature of the class. The person casting magic jar is not a rogue (or if they are they get their own SA applied). I could see it be argued that it is an automatic ability - but it is granted because of the class, and not because of the physical body or form.


i was so focussed on tryng to see what you access from the host body, i didn't even think to compare to the text of the possessor's maintained abilities.

thanks/whoops


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yeah, you can't access class features, only racial features (and only certain ones at that). If the host had sneak attack from their race though, then perhaps you could use it then.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic Jar + Sneak Attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions