Imrijka's timing of roll for another explore


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Here's the situation that came up in our game:

Imrijka encountered Corrupted Crusaders. The ally to acquire was a Mastiff. She used some cards to defeat the Corrupted Soldier and acquired the Mastiff. Since she was down some cards, she then displayed the Mastiff to draw two cards. Then she rolled to see if she got another explore and rolled a 6. Then she explored again.

1) Defeat Corrupted Soldier
1b) Acquire Mastiff
2) Display Mastiff
3) Roll for free explore
4) Explore

In actual fact, I rolled for the free explore and then displayed the mastiff, but our group agreed that I couldn't actually do that as, once you've rolled, you have to immediately explore. But I don't see anything that says I have to roll immediately after defeating the monster. This would allow me to use the Mastiff (who can't be used in an encounter), to cast Brilliance/Glibness/Strength/etc., or other preparatory actions before seeing if I get the explore.

Is this timing allowed?


See this FAQ which is now in the WotR Rulebook:

WotR Rulebook p9 wrote:
If a card grants you an additional exploration, after you finish what you are doing, you must immediately use that exploration or forfeit it.

So, no time to play that Mastiff. You have to explore right after you finish the encounter or lose the exploration.


Hawkmoon269 wrote:

See this FAQ which is now in the WotR Rulebook:

WotR Rulebook p9 wrote:
If a card grants you an additional exploration, after you finish what you are doing, you must immediately use that exploration or forfeit it.
So, no time to play that Mastiff. You have to explore right after you finish the encounter or lose the exploration.

Right, but I haven't rolled for the explore yet. I agree that, as soon as I roll and get a 4,5,6, that I have to do the free explore. But do I have to roll right away after defeating a monster or can I get prepared - display Mastiff, play Cure on myself, etc. - and then try and get a free explore?

Here is the actual text of the power:

Imrijka's free explore wrote:
When you defeat a monster on your turn, you may roll d6; on a 4,5,or 6, explore your location.


I'd say yes, you have to roll right away. For 2 reasons. First, it is in keeping with the spirit of the immediate exploration thing above. But second, and probably more importantly, it says you have to do it when you defeat a monster. If you do something else then it is no longer "when you defeat a monster" so you couldn't use the power.


Bother. :)

Now I have to rewind and hope for some good rolls!

Thanks for the rules assist!


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Furthermore, "when you defeat" happens during the Resolve the Encounter step, meaning you're still in an encounter at the time, and you cannot play cards during an encounter unless they relate to that step of the encounter.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Imrijka's timing of roll for another explore All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion