
GinoA |
2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

[...]Each spell has a caster level equal to the minimum level needed to cast that spell. The user need not provide any material components or focus to cast the spell, and there is no arcane spell failure chance for wearing armor (because the ring wearer need not gesture).[...]
A spellcaster can cast any spells into the ring, so long as the total spell levels do not add up to more than three. Metamagic versions of spells take up storage space equal to their spell level modified by the metamagic feat. A spellcaster can use a scroll to put a spell into the minor ring of spell storing.[...]
The Weapon and Armor enhancements do not contain any of the quoted text. Nor do they contain text similar to the Vibrant Purple Prism Ioun stone which says "as a ring of spell storing".
By pure RAW (and I primarily play PFS), the enhancements follow the general rules for magic items:
Caster Level (CL): The next item in a notational entry gives the caster level of the item, indicating its relative power. The caster level determines the item's saving throw bonus, as well as range or other level-dependent aspects of the powers of the item (if variable).[emphasis mine] It also determines the level that must be contended with should the item come under the effect of a dispel magic spell or similar situation.
For potions, scrolls, and wands, the creator can set the caster level of an item at any number high enough to cast the stored spell but not higher than her own caster level. For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the item itself.
As has been asked within the past few months,
By the way anyone else think that spell storing is ridiculously cheap given that it allows a 5th level wizard to store a CL12 3rd level spell?