Skill check: Grappling hooks and CMB's


Advice

Grand Lodge

If a Monk of the Empty Hand does not use a weapon but an item, tool ect. to disarm an oppenant, say a grappling hook, ( the hooks catch the longsword about the hilt...) would it be a combat manuever check under improved unarmed strike?
Also one might argue that it is being treated as a wepaon though it wont identify in the descriptor as one so a skill check, say disable device ( the monk casts out with the fishing rod, winding about the feet of...).

Though I have to say, counting it as an improvised weapon and using CMB's instead of skill based checks seem lackluster, though id want to bide the rules....really i would...really....sure.


If you don't have an ability which says otherwise, you use your disarm CMB for disarm checks.

And if you are worried about the -4 penalty to disarm checks for being unarmed, you should know that a character with Improved Unarmed Strike is considered armed. Your body is a weapon!

Edit:

Disarm Sunder and Trip are all combat maneuvers that can be made in place of an attack, and do therefore use your attack roll modified with your bonus to the specific combat maneuver (such as the ones from Improved/Greater Trip).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Skill check: Grappling hooks and CMB's All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.