Should Robe of Energy Resistance and Robe of Vision be rechargable?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


You know, I was wondering. Since they are Magic, and are considered Armors, and even have the corresponding Trait, and all the magic Armor cards have the power "you may recharge at the end of your turn"?

Pathfinder ACG Developer

Not all magic armor have that trait, though it's certainly most of them. Clothing-like cards in particular often lack that trait.


I am confused. Robes are mostly Magic ITEMS which do not have that trait while all Magic Armor normally has that trait.
Are those two actually Armor cards?


Keith Richmond wrote:
Not all magic armor have that trait, though it's certainly most of them. Clothing-like cards in particular often lack that trait.

Well, I don't have any class decks, but I can't think of Magic armor that don't recharges, off the top of my head.

And I was going off this FAQ, which (to me) seems to suggest that not only all Magic shields, but also all Magic armor is intended to have the recharge power:

" Q: Should all shields with the Magic trait let you recharge them when you reset your hand?

A: We've decided that all shields that have both the Magic and Offhand traits should allow that. Also, we are similarly updating the Arrow Catching Studded Leather and the Snakeskin Tunic."


The Buckler armors with the Magic trait in S&S did not have the power to recharge when you reset your hand. See this comment from Mike.


Hawkmoon269 wrote:
The Buckler armors with the Magic trait in S&S did not have the power to recharge when you reset your hand. See this comment from Mike.

I remember this comment. In fact, Mike points out that the recharge was expressly omitted on Bucklers so they can be balanced against Shields.

I'm OK with knowing that it's a similar case of the "armor" Robes being balanced against normal Armor, and this is all I was asking, if that's intended.

In the topic you linked, it's obvious that a lot of player never suspected that Magic armor is supposed to upgrade, and it turned out there was a 'bug' all along. How can we be sure it's not the same with Robes?

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

The Light Armor trait gives an armor some variant of the sentence "Banish this card to reduce [damage in some way]; if proficient with light armors, bury it instead." Lamellars mess with that power, sometimes dramatically.

If it has the Magic trait, then it gets "If proficient with light armors, you may recharge this card when you reset your hand" unless it has the Clothing trait, or is a Lamellar. If it has the Alchemical trait, it gets some other closing power instead.


Vic Wertz wrote:

The Light Armor trait gives an armor some variant of the sentence "Banish this card to reduce [damage in some way]; if proficient with light armors, bury it instead." Lamellars mess with that power, sometimes dramatically.

If it has the Magic trait, then it gets "If proficient with light armors, you may recharge this card when you reset your hand" unless it has the Clothing trait, or is a Lamellar. If it has the Alchemical trait, it gets some other closing power instead.

Thanks, Vic! This was an even more exhaustive response than I hoped for, and I'm sure most people appreciate the design insight.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Should Robe of Energy Resistance and Robe of Vision be rechargable? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion