Brace as Readied Move Action and Attack of Opportunity


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

So, here's an idea. My character sees someone on a mount and I have the highest initiative all the other characters, so I go first. I know that this mounted due is going to charge my party and I have a weapon with the brace quality.

Here's my idea. I ready a move action and I say, "when the knight charges, I will move within 5 feet between me and his path." Then, when I do so, the knight is charging an enemy which, presumably isn't me, meaning that he provokes an attack of opportunity from me (since he has to first move and then attack, he can't strike back at me).

My question is; does the brace quality provoke? If I'm wielding, say, a boar spear, does this mean that I get to attack him and deal double damage for his attempt to move through my threatened space? Or is it just the normal damage, since, while I'm using the brace weapon in a readied action, the readied part is the move and not the attack of opportunity?


I'm not sure what it would mean for the brace quality itself to provoke, but I think you're fine on getting to use it for double damage on the AoO you get as a result of him charging through you as a result of your readied move. But I'm not positive, so have some other opinions before you try it.


Objective: You would not have a readied attack vs a charge so brace does not apply. You MIGHT get an attack of opportunity as he passes through your square, but your readied action is not whats letting you attack, so no brace.

Subjective: the rules for what happens when you interrupt someone's complex actions are somewhere between subjective and non existant. He is charging. When you move near him, the dm might say he stops, or even that he lances you and then stops with no AOO. (since you both have reach you only need to go into your threatened square not out of it)


TL;DR: Yes, you can deal double damage and take 5 foot step.

Core Rulebook wrote:


"You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character’s activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.

You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don’t otherwise move any distance during the round."

Readying an action for bracing is a standard action. As part of this readying, you can take a 5 foot step at any time during that round. You even can attack the charging creature on your ground and then take a 5 foot step afterwards (if he charges you etc.). As long as you don't move that round, you can make a 5 foot step to meet your enemy or position yourself afterwards, as long as you don't make any other movement that round.

Remember that any character can ready an attack against a charge. Your weapon with the "brace" just doubles your base damage, as per your weapon's feature. It's all the same for any character otherwise.

Example scenario:

*You have the initiative.*
- You spend a move action on drawing your weapon.
- You ready a "brace" action as a standard action and say "I will take a 5 foot step before my attack, towards the charging enemy."

*The charging creature's turn*
- He charges to one of your allies next to you.
- Before he makes an attack, your character takes a 5 foot step towards him and makes an attack to the charging creature (not an AoO, attack action). If it hits, your braced weapon deals an additional base weapon damage (+1d8 for longspear, regardless of x3).
- If the charging creature doesn't die, he proceeds to charge your ally and deals damage.

next turn.......


Sacredless wrote:

So, here's an idea. My character sees someone on a mount and I have the highest initiative all the other characters, so I go first. I know that this mounted due is going to charge my party and I have a weapon with the brace quality.

Here's my idea. I ready a move action and I say, "when the knight charges, I will move within 5 feet between me and his path." Then, when I do so, the knight is charging an enemy which, presumably isn't me, meaning that he provokes an attack of opportunity from me (since he has to first move and then attack, he can't strike back at me).

My question is; does the brace quality provoke? If I'm wielding, say, a boar spear, does this mean that I get to attack him and deal double damage for his attempt to move through my threatened space? Or is it just the normal damage, since, while I'm using the brace weapon in a readied action, the readied part is the move and not the attack of opportunity?

Johhnie wrote:
stuff...

He readied a move action, not a brace.

No, you do not deal x2 dam, you have to ready action the brace to get that.

Brace does not provoke.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Brace as Readied Move Action and Attack of Opportunity All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions