| Vaite Belleran |
Hello all!
I was browsing the Psychic class recently and I came across their ability know as Phrenic Amplifications. One amplification in particular caught my eye, Focused Force, and it reads as such
"When casting a force spell, the psychic can increase the spell's damage by spending 1 point from her phrenic pool. Increase the die size for the spell's damage by one step."
With this reading, I was wondering if using a spell-like ability with the force descriptor would count as casting a force spell or if I had to use an actual spell from a spell slot?
On a related note, could I use a spell from a wand and increase it using this Phrenic Amplification?
Thanks for your input
| Slithery D |
If you can't use a metamagic on an SLA (and you can't), then I don't think you can use a phrenic amplification on one.
| j b 200 |
Does the ability say anything at all about only effecting psychic spells? If so then sla are out since they aren't psychic.
"The psychic can activate a phrenic amplification only while casting a spell using psychic magic"
This.
Good Catch Chess Pwn.
Imbicatus
|
Does the ability say anything at all about only effecting psychic spells? If so then sla are out since they aren't psychic.
"The psychic can activate a phrenic amplification only while casting a spell using psychic magic"
If the sla is granted by a psychic class, it's psychic.
The FAQ was written before psychic spells, but the general rule still applies.