Are reprints errata's?


Rules Questions


Basically title. If a item/spell/creature/archetype/feat is printed in an older book, but then is also printed in a new book with alterations, is this new printing now the official version? Would this be considered an errata, or are there effectively now two versions of the subject in question?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Ask your GM.

Often in PFS they will use one or the other. Fencing Grace they used the most recent. Scorpion Whip they used the oldest printing.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The newest version is assumed to take precedent.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Could be either, newer, older, or neither... in roughly that order of likelihood. Ask your GM (or the PFS clarifications and resources documents) is the only 'correct' answer.

Sovereign Court

In PFS, all legal versions (according to Additional Resources) are legal. By definition.

If legal versions aren't the same, then you can have different versions of the thing. (e.g. Dueling property)

Sometimes they'll propagate the newer version of the thing so all sources use that (Fencing Grace). Only in that case is the newer version effectively errata.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Are reprints errata's? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.