
Ain't no Way |
Okay, so I am a druid playing in a Paizo pathfinder game. I currently have a Roc animal companion and my plan is to ue the spell Awaken on him when i get to level 9. I'm going to be taking the leadership feat to cover having the animal companion as a cohort but i wanted to know what level the Roc would be. As an animal companion the Roc's level is equal to my druid level, does that transfer to him being a level 9 cohort? or does he drop to level 1? does he become a level 9 Animal Companion level 1 (whatever class he takes?. Any help would be great.

DM Livgin |

Know that once you cast awaken the roc will no longer be an animal companion,and you will need to find an additional animal companion.
This isn't covered well, but this is how I recommend levelling the roc: lock in it's eight HD and stats from being an animal companion, less things like share spell and devotion. Now it will be level 8 (8 HD) and you will be level 9, this breaks the leadership level less two cohort rule, but I would ask your DM to handwave that because it not having class levels is a handicap. Now when you level up to 11 and it levels up to 9, it can take a class level or a racial hit dice.
Hope this helps.