Summon Familiar


Rules Questions


The Wizards' Arcane Bond ability grants two options (familiar or bonded item) and has two forms (Ex or Sp).

So which is which?

Silver Crusade

Familiar = Extraordinary Ability (Ex)

Bonded Item = Spell-Like Ability (Sp)


Thanks, that makes sense. Did you deduce that, or did I just miss it in the rules somewhere?


While it's not explicit, the familiar and the bonded object are both things which can exist within an anti-magic field (i.e. they're not magical, so they're not Su or Sp); the portion of the two abilities which is Sp is the bonded object's ability to cast one spell per day that is written down in the wizard's spellbook and that the wizard is capable of casting.

Silver Crusade

Np, and it's pretty much what Trekkie said, VRMH ^w^


Interestingly enough, the bonded objects gained by the bonded wizard, arcane duelist bard, and magician bard are all just listed as "Arcane Bond (Ex)."
I can see the ability could be labeled either way in reference to the object itself or the spellcasting it grants, but you'd think they'd at least be consistent.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summon Familiar All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions