Monster Tactician -Summons


Rules Questions


Monster tactician says the summon monster ability is a spell-like ability, not a spell, does that mean you can't combine it with feats like "Augment Summoning" or "Evolved Summoned Monster"?


It's sufficiently like a spell for those to work, just like they do for a Summoner.


Manly-man teapot wrote:
It's sufficiently like a spell for those to work, just like they do for a Summoner.

But metamagic doesnt work with spell like abilities:

Spell-Like Abilities FAQ wrote:

Can I use a metamagic feat to alter a spell-like ability?

No. Metamagic feats specifically only affect spells, not spell-like abilities.

And Augment summon and other feats like it all share the same wording (they all refer to modifying "spells")... You can understand my confusion, i'm sure.

Don't get me wrong, I want to be able to take feats like augment summoning, I just want to make sure i'm playing 100% legally.


But neither of those are metamagic feats. Metamagic feats specifically can't affect spell-like abilities.

If you want support for your position, consider that a Summoner can use Augment Summon with his SLA, not as a class ability but as a clarification, and that bestiary creature with SLAs and Spell Focus apply the DC modifier.


Manly-man teapot wrote:

But neither of those are metamagic feats. Metamagic feats specifically can't affect spell-like abilities.

If you want support for your position, consider that a Summoner can use Augment Summon with his SLA, not as a class ability but as a clarification, and that bestiary creature with SLAs and Spell Focus apply the DC modifier.

That's excellent! Just to be sure could you link me to where it says a summoner can use augment summon with his SLA?

Nevermind, found something:

Spacelard wrote:
Robert Young wrote:
Erik Mehring wrote:
For the spells, yes, but the summoner can cast Summon Monster as a spell like ability 3+Cha modifier a day as a spell like ability, not from his daily allotment of spells. Would those feats affect this spell-like ability?

From D20PFSRD:

Benefit: Each creature you conjure with any summon spell gains a +4 enhancement bonus to Strength and Constitution for the duration of the spell that summoned it.

It says conjured via 'spell'. A spell-like ability is spell-like, but it is not a spell, so I'd say no.

This came up during the playtest. A very clear yes.

Andrew Betts wrote:
Can Augment Summoning also affect monsters summoned through this Spell-Like Ability?

Yes

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monster Tactician -Summons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions