A Question on Casting Spells


Rules Questions


I have not played many casters (1 so far) and I had a question regarding how the Shaman casts their spells. I see that they know all Shaman spells, but have to memorize what they will cast that day, and can only cast a specific number each day.

Lets say a 1st level shaman has 2 1st level spells they can cast today. So they memorize Cure Light Wounds and Burning Hands. Do they have 2 first level spells slots, meaning they can cast 2 Burning Hands, 2 Cure Light Wounds, or one of each? Or are they restricted to cast one of each?


They can cast as many has they have prepared. So if they memorize 1 Burning Hands and 1 Cure Light Wounds, they can cast 1 Burning Hands and 1 Cure Light Wounds.

If you had instead chosen to memorize 2 Cure Light Wounds, you could cast 2 Cure Light Wounds that day, but 0 Burning Hands because you didn't memorize it that day.


Thanks...Im thinking I would prefer a caster with spell slots vs memorized casting per day. Would that be mainly arcane casters?


Oracle on the divine side. And all the psychic casters.


Krell44 wrote:
Thanks...Im thinking I would prefer a caster with spell slots vs memorized casting per day. Would that be mainly arcane casters?

All casters have spell slots. You seem to want a spontaneous caster (like sorcerers, oracles, summoners, and inquisitors) as opposed to prepared casters (like clerics, druids, and wizards)


Jeraa, you are correct.

So the wording I am looking for is Spontaneous vs. Prepared.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / A Question on Casting Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions