Kineticists and Merciful Spell


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Since I first saw the feat, I've been wondering about something. Kineticists get a baked in metamagic ability for some things like Maximize and Empower. But that ability doesn't mention Merciful Spell at all. Thus I'd think it can't be used with the metakinesis ability. Am I wrong?

Related to the above question, I know there's metamagic feats specifically for spell like abilities. But these are again for stuff like Empower and Maximize. Since Merciful Spell doesn't raise the effective spell level, can it be applied with SLA and kinetic blasts? Or can only the metamagic feats that specifically call out SLA available for use?

Been wondering about this, because I keep getting ideas for a kineticist who tries for nonlethal takedowns only unless fighting true monsters like undead. Which I don't think is possible normally with kinetic blasts.

Scarab Sages

The only rules-legal way to do nonlethal damage on a kinetic blast is to take the otherwise lackluster wood element and take the merciful foliage infusion.

Dark Archive

Damn, was hoping. Didn't think it'd work, but was hoping. Don't have the book wood element is in yet either. Not that I've heard many good things about the elements from that book.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.

If it's a home game, I'd house rule metakinesis to allow merciful for 0 burn. I really feel it's an oversight.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Kineticists and Merciful Spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions